Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Senior Member bamme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    319
    Member #
    19662
    Liked
    1 times
    Hi,

    Ive just finished off this website: http://ameliealden.com/stf/test/index.html

    It uses jquery, and the rest is just css and html.

    It works fine on Firefox and Safari, but is a complete mess in internet explorer..

    I havent the first idea about how to fix for IE (dont some people include a seperate stylesheet file and put ifIE within their code.. or something like that?) and am struggling to know where to start fixing

    From the look of it, the minimum that needs fixing is:

    hide the gallery fade in/out and replace it with one static image on the header
    unstyle the menu and make sure it displays inline not block

    sidebar needs to be next to the main content column not underneath

    quick contact slide-out tab needs to go

    (i only want these changes to happen in IE, not any other browser..)

    Can anyone share any knowledge?

    thanks so much
    emma

  2.  

  3. #2
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,694
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    717 times
    Emma,

    Just so you know ... with IE8, everything looks fine,
    so that leaves you with IE6 and IE7.

    I don't have either of those (IE6 or IE7) on my PC right now.
    Maybe later I can see it on an IE6 PC.


  4. #3
    Senior Member bamme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    319
    Member #
    19662
    Liked
    1 times
    Hi, thanks for the quick reply

    Im testing on IE for mac 5.2 ... is this worth actually testing on???

    I only have a mac - is there a better version of ie i can download to test on in future?

    Thanks
    Emma

  5. #4
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,694
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    717 times
    oh ... my ....

    IE for Mac has been not supported for several years now.
    Don't use it. Instead use Safari or FireFox.
    No offense to you, but most everyone else knows that already.
    You'll find a much better internet experience with Safari.


  6. #5
    Member JasonMc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    61
    Member #
    20283
    You can use the 'if' fixes that you mentioned, here is a link http://www.wipeout44.com/brain_food/..._bug_fixes.asp

  7. #6
    Senior Member bamme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    319
    Member #
    19662
    Liked
    1 times
    ahh thanks so much thats great! So, with this tag, if you want to do a whole seperate stylesheet for ie, could you just insert it like this:

    <!--[if IE]> <link rel="stylesheet" type="..." href=".." >
    <![EndIf]-->

    If i were to make sure it was placed after my main stylesheet, would it cancel out any rules for elements in the main stylesheet repeated in the ie stylesheet and use those ones instead, if the user was to be browsing with ie? would i not have any if tags within that ie stylesheet?

  8. #7
    Senior Member bamme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    319
    Member #
    19662
    Liked
    1 times
    Quote Originally Posted by mlseim
    oh ... my ....

    IE for Mac has been not supported for several years now.
    Don't use it. Instead use Safari or FireFox.
    No offense to you, but most everyone else knows that already.
    You'll find a much better internet experience with Safari.
    Oh yeah i never ever use IE. But another person somewhere else in the world who wants to look at the site probably will be.. thats why i was asking

  9. #8
    Senior Member paintingtheweb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    128
    Member #
    15503
    Quote Originally Posted by mlseim
    Emma,

    Just so you know ... with IE8, everything looks fine,
    so that leaves you with IE6 and IE7.

    I don't have either of those (IE6 or IE7) on my PC right now.
    Maybe later I can see it on an IE6 PC.
    If your using IE8, you actually do have IE7 - just press F12 and switch the browser mode to IE7 and voila!

  10. #9
    Senior Member bamme's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    319
    Member #
    19662
    Liked
    1 times
    hi guys who replied and said my site looked fine! can you please have a look at this thread?

    http://www.designforums.co.uk/web-de...html#post43729


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:04 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com