Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2
    Member #
    20948
    Hello folks...i am new here, so, hi and hello...

    What i am after doing is very simple, i am sure, and i've spent ages trawling the internet to try and find a solution myself...but failed...

    What i have, is 2 websites...one UK based, 1 US based...both brand new..

    What i am trying to find out how to do is that when a person goes to one of the sites, a popup window comes up asking them whether they want the UK site or the international website, with the option to remember this choice and not show the popup again..

    The only site i've found which can demo this is is ebay.com... When a person from the UK goes to ebay.com, it pops up asking if they want the US or UK website..

    www.ebay.com

    Can anyone please be kind enough to help me design this little popup please??

    Thanks in advance..

    Andy

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member Dorky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Destin Florida
    Posts
    1,430
    Member #
    19103
    Liked
    4 times
    it would be easier to just use php and the IP.
    $get_ip = $SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR'];
    will put their ip into the $get_ip var. use a list of ip ranges for each country in question and compare. name the files by county and when the script finds a file matching the ip range, use the filename to create the appropriate header url. it seems like a lot but using a flatfile doesnt take the initializing of a database and is lightning fast.

    popups are annoying and poor design, even if ebay got lazy and went with something so lackluster.

    while($get_it !== true){ continue; }

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2
    Member #
    20948
    Hiya mate, thanks for the reply...
    I think the IP address route is a heck of a lot work, as i'd have to do the IP ranges for everywhere in the world, besides UK...

  5. #4
    Senior Member Dorky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Destin Florida
    Posts
    1,430
    Member #
    19103
    Liked
    4 times
    na, there are sites that provide the ranges in downloadable .txt. but you are going to be using php and IP to remember their result anyway because sessions/cookies are going to clear in short time or when they clear there history. but hey, if you want to put in an equal amount of work researching for half the quality of approach, feel free.

    while($get_it !== true){ continue; }

  6. #5
    Senior Member Dorky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Destin Florida
    Posts
    1,430
    Member #
    19103
    Liked
    4 times
    doing it the way i suggested will eliminate the need to remember each computer that hits. after time that will become a huge amount of data that you will have to lug around with your site if you transfer it or make changes.

    while($get_it !== true){ continue; }

  7. #6
    Senior Member Dorky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Destin Florida
    Posts
    1,430
    Member #
    19103
    Liked
    4 times
    oh yes not to mention, as that db grows it will take longer and longer to search the db to see if they have visited and what their selection was. how long will it take to query 10,000 ip numbers? to find their particular choice.

    while($get_it !== true){ continue; }

  8. #7
    Senior Member Dorky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Destin Florida
    Posts
    1,430
    Member #
    19103
    Liked
    4 times
    or i guess you could just annoy them with a popup every visit

    while($get_it !== true){ continue; }

  9. #8
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,693
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    717 times
    Andy ....
    You could use cookies, but some people might delete them (that would be their problem).

    You would use the same script at the top of both sites, and after it checks for
    the cookie, it would decide which site to redirect to.

    I assume both sites are on different webhost servers?
    And they are both PHP?


  10. #9
    Senior Member Dorky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Destin Florida
    Posts
    1,430
    Member #
    19103
    Liked
    4 times

    while($get_it !== true){ continue; }

  11. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Scarborough, UK
    Posts
    13
    Member #
    20900
    you can ahieve this through javascript by creating a popup therefore you can enter your own text and so forth...


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:03 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com