Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    4
    Member #
    20960
    I am new to Dreamweaver and website design all together, but I am following a tutorial to the T and have gone back and reviewed many times to see if this was a person error, but my banner.jpg will not show up when I do a Preview in Browser.

    Here is the Code:

    <table width="770" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="4">
    <tr>
    <td width="770" height="180"><img src="/IMAGES/banner.jpg" alt="banner" width="770" height="180" align="middle" /></td>
    </tr>
    </table>

    The weird thing is that everything is exactly like the file says... IMAGES is the file. banner.jpg is the image and there are no errors as far as i can see. When I hit preview it just says banner in a 770 x 180 white block.

    PS: This is just a local host until I have what I want then I will be uploading it to my domain.

  2.  

  3. #2
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,693
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    717 times
    And your directory is named "IMAGES" in capital letters?

    What happens if you just do this:

    Code:
    <html>
    <body>
    <img src="/IMAGES/banner.jpg" />
    </body>
    </html>
    Make that simple HTML file and see if it shows up.


  4. #3
    Senior Member Dorky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Destin Florida
    Posts
    1,430
    Member #
    19103
    Liked
    4 times
    its the initial slash. the only time you use an initial sllash is when you are calling from root not local or relative.
    so instead of

    <img src="/IMAGES/banner.jpg" />
    it should be

    <img src="IMAGES/banner.jpg" />

    while($get_it !== true){ continue; }

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    4
    Member #
    20960
    This did not help. I tried a few things though...

    I added the simple HTML code. Did not work...
    I renamed all the files to lowercase. Did not work...
    I tried multiple html pages like my index with all the other stuff and a new one with just the picture like you suggested. Did not work...

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    4
    Member #
    20960
    Quote Originally Posted by Dorky
    its the initial slash. the only time you use an initial sllash is when you are calling from root not local or relative.
    so instead of



    it should be
    Ok I will give that a try.

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    4
    Member #
    20960
    The removal of the initial slashed worked. Thanks a lot for the help. I don't understand why dreamweaver would default to bad code, but thanks for the tip anyways.

  8. #7
    Senior Member Dorky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Destin Florida
    Posts
    1,430
    Member #
    19103
    Liked
    4 times
    lol. cool. glad i could help.

    while($get_it !== true){ continue; }


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:24 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com