Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Senior Member Orlando Web Des's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    117
    Member #
    20190
    Hi all..
    I'm building this webpage for a client who only wants tables (no CSS boo!) and I cannot get this page to view correctly in Firefox but it looks fine in IE & Chrome.

    www.broadstonemedia.com/offer

    If I adjust it to look fine in FF then it looks incorrect in Chrome & IE..

    Anyone has fix ideas? It's pretty simple code but I'm not a tables guy, only CSS.

    Thanks in advance

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member Dorky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Destin Florida
    Posts
    1,430
    Member #
    19103
    Liked
    4 times
    its auto margins. * { margin: 0px; } at the top of your css or set margins element by element.

    while($get_it !== true){ continue; }

  4. #3
    Senior Member Orlando Web Des's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    117
    Member #
    20190
    Thanks for the response Dorky...

    I tried adding <body leftmargin="0px" topmargin="0px" marginwidth="0px" marginheight="0px"> in under the </head> but that didn't do anything.

    I can't use an external Stylesheet on this site so can you explain how I was use this as an inline css code? Where do I place this code?

    thanks

  5. #4
    Senior Member Dorky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Destin Florida
    Posts
    1,430
    Member #
    19103
    Liked
    4 times
    <body style='margin: 0px;'> or in any tag that needs adjusted.

    while($get_it !== true){ continue; }

  6. #5
    Senior Member Orlando Web Des's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    117
    Member #
    20190
    Dorky,
    Didn't work, it messed up the layout even more.

  7. #6
    Senior Member Dorky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Destin Florida
    Posts
    1,430
    Member #
    19103
    Liked
    4 times
    idk man. sorry, im a css guy too.

    while($get_it !== true){ continue; }

  8. #7
    Senior Member Orlando Web Des's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    117
    Member #
    20190
    ok, thanks for trying

  9. #8
    Senior Member diddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    502
    Member #
    16955
    Why can't you use CSS?
    Or external CSS?
    Becasue the client is doing you or anyone else no favours with requesting no CSS and having table layouts, in my opinion.

  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    11
    Member #
    21024
    I'd educate them on the advantages of CSS, such as ease of implementation and use, speed, cleanliness, etc. If they don't accept that, grit your teeth and finish it, then get outta there. Tables aren't worth it as long as they're not your ONLY client.

  11. #10
    Senior Member Orlando Web Des's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    117
    Member #
    20190
    Listen I appreciate your input but the title of the post wasn't "how can I get my client to switch to CSS". I asked for coding help.

    Your preaching to the choir here. I fixed the issue but next time when posting, think about what you're responding.


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:13 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com