Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Senior Member diddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    502
    Member #
    16955
    Ok, I'm really having trouble with this site. It was all static HTML this morning, and then I decided to change it all to PHP. I put PHP require in for the header and the footer, and all went well. I then updated some content....and now it's all screwed up.

    If you go to the "Feel The Fear" link, you'll find a second, vertical navigation menu. In it you will find that the background is supposed to be either white or grey, but now has the same background image as the main horizontal navigation. Also, on nearly all the pages, the content is centred below the menu. I don't want that (except for those pictures of fireworks etc).

    I cannot for the life of me figure out why this is happening, so some problem-solving help here is greatly appreciated. I am yet again sorry for causing you all time, I hate these stupid problems much more than any of you do, I promise.

    site: http://beta.essentialselfsolutions.com.au

    CSS (haven't modified it since the changes): http://beta.essentialselfsolutions.com.au/mainstyle.css

  2.  

  3. #2
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,694
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    717 times
    Post your actual PHP script for "feel the fear".


  4. #3
    Senior Member aeroweb99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Port Huron, Michigan
    Posts
    1,037
    Member #
    16468
    Liked
    1 times
    You have text-align: center for you div right content. Also you have display inline for your subNavcontainer and float left. Display inline would go on your li tags. Not sure what layout you want for those.

    You have not closed the navcontainer div prior to the beginning of the SubNavcontainer div, so it is inheriting the bg image.

  5. #4
    WDF Staff smoseley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    9,729
    Member #
    819
    Liked
    205 times
    The problem is you're never closing your navcontainer div.

    Here's the HTML:

    Code:
    		<div id="navcontainer">
    		<ul>
    		<li><a href="index.php"><span>Home</span></a></li>
    		<li><a href="feelthefear.php"><span>Feel The Fear&reg; Workshop</span></a></li>
    		<li><a href="other.php"><span>Other Workshops</span></a></li>
    		<li><a href="contact.php"><span>Contact</span></a></li>
    
    		</ul>		<div class="spacer">
    		</div>
    The offending "spacer" div is bolded. Because it's not properly closed, your close </div> for your navcontainer is closing hte spacer, and the navcontainer remains open... which means your navcontainer styles apply to the rest of your page, including the subnavcontainer.

    You need to close that spacer div and everything should be fine.

    Try thgis:
    Code:
    		<div id="navcontainer">
    		<ul>
    		<li><a href="index.php"><span>Home</span></a></li>
    		<li><a href="feelthefear.php"><span>Feel The Fear&reg; Workshop</span></a></li>
    		<li><a href="other.php"><span>Other Workshops</span></a></li>
    		<li><a href="contact.php"><span>Contact</span></a></li>
    
    		</ul>		<div class="spacer"> </div>
    		</div>

  6. #5
    WDF Staff smoseley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    9,729
    Member #
    819
    Liked
    205 times
    PS - get firebug so you can analyze what's going on with your CSS / HTML better. It'll really help you with these types of issues.

  7. #6
    Senior Member diddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    502
    Member #
    16955
    Well that did it, thanks Steve. I did run the validator last night, but I was really not in the mood, and I probably didn't notice what it said very well. I do have firebug and the developer toolbar, but dumbly didn't use them.

    Thanks Aero for pointing that out in the SubNavContainer.


  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    bangalore
    Posts
    189
    Member #
    20785
    I think your query is resolved or you are still looking for some more help.


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:09 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com