Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    Hey, this is my first time designing a web page and that's one more than I would've preferred, haha.

I'll come out and say right now I know basically no html or css, which has made things kind of hard. What I've been doing for the site so far is copying the source scripts of existing web designs i like and posting it in to dreamweaver, where i then edit the stuff in the design WYSIWYG section.

I've run into a problem though, because the menu bar is based off a remote style css or whatever, and i need to change some of the images in the menu. so i copied the remote css file and saved it to my drive, but when i changed where it gets the style css in the web page html, my web page no longer looks good and instead looks awful and like something pumped out in microsoft word, even though i haven't changed anything in the css document yet!

what's going on and how can i fix this?

Member #
    Liked
    717 times
    Not much we can help with unless you have a webhost where you can upload your site.
    Then, give us a link to your URL, so we can see it.

Member #
    i hadn't even thought of that haha

http://www.newsboys.com
    ^^^original site

http://www.brianreesemusic.com/index.html
    ^^^my site

i'm not entirely done changing things, the part i'm having problems with is the menu bar. for example, where it says "tour," i want it to say "bio." i have the image to replace it with, but i can't change the remote css and i have problems already mentioned when i try to use a style css on my drive.

hope this helps

Member #
    Liked
    1 times