Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Junior Member PHPGurl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    11
    Member #
    21600
    Hi everyone,
    I'm making a site for my school and for some reason the navigation bar wants to wrap around the screen when it's viewed in IE8. It works fine in FF and when you press the compatibility mode it works correctly as well. Does anyone know what I'm doing wrong? http://student.mccinfo.net/bmwilliams1/Home.html
    Also, in Firefox, why is the "Welcome" moved out of the container to the background?
    Any help would be awesome! Thanks!

  2.  

  3. #2
    Junior Member MyInterest's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    1
    Member #
    21970
    hi dear

    Have you tried % in place of pixels, when you define dimensions in page... Sometimes browser displays the contents differently if you have defined that in terms of pixels. I hope you will get some benefit out of it. You can visit on website in which i have used this concept.
    http:// (w)(w)(w) .healthcaremagic (dot) com/

    Check it...

    Regards

  4. #3
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,720
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    718 times
    Myinterest,
    Where exactly on your site will I find the % example?
    Give me a link to the file with the CSS defined as you stated.


  5. #4
    Junior Member PHPGurl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    11
    Member #
    21600
    Yeah, please can you post the CSS link, because I've never designed in % before, thanks.

  6. #5
    WDF Staff mlseim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Cottage Grove, Minnesota
    Posts
    7,720
    Member #
    5580
    Liked
    718 times
    PHPGurl,
    They won't post it because they are using WDF for spamming their link.
    I was just being "smart" with them. I've have since taken away their link.

    I didn't get a chance to view your site with IE8 yet.
    Maybe tomorrow I might have some ideas for you.


  7. #6
    Junior Member PHPGurl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    11
    Member #
    21600
    Oh.. well thanks, I appreciate it, even if you can't help.

  8. #7
    Senior Member aeroweb99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Port Huron, Michigan
    Posts
    1,037
    Member #
    16468
    Liked
    1 times
    Yeah that's weird it does that in IE8 and not 7 or Firefox. Try reducing the left and right padding in the "a" tag in the li's by 1/10 of an Em (to .7 or .6) and see if that fixes it. Your close to overflowing the width of the container.

    You should check your site in Firefox also (I have 2.0). There are some overlapping issues. I added clear both to the #topnav div and it helps a great deal.

  9. #8
    Junior Member PHPGurl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    11
    Member #
    21600
    Quote Originally Posted by aeroweb99
    Yeah that's weird it does that in IE8 and not 7 or Firefox. Try reducing the left and right padding in the "a" tag in the li's by 1/10 of an Em (to .7 or .6) and see if that fixes it. Your close to overflowing the width of the container.

    You should check your site in Firefox also (I have 2.0). There are some overlapping issues. I added clear both to the #topnav div and it helps a great deal.
    Hmm, ok well I guess I'll have to do that. It looks a little off but thanks.
    Although I see another IE8 problem I missed. In FF, IE7 the facebook link works normally but in IE8 it doesn't register the image as a link unless you move your mouse to the right edge of the image. It's just a regular image link, lol whats up with that?

  10. #9
    Senior Member aeroweb99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Port Huron, Michigan
    Posts
    1,037
    Member #
    16468
    Liked
    1 times
    Quote Originally Posted by PHPGurl
    Hmm, ok well I guess I'll have to do that. It looks a little off but thanks.
    You can make an IE8 conditional statement so it only affects IE8.

  11. #10
    Junior Member PHPGurl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    11
    Member #
    21600
    Nah, I'll just leave it the way it is, I don't want to jinx it by changing it again lol. Does anyone know what's wrong with the facebook image though?


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:50 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com