Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    Hi, I'm very new to web design, and since it is summer, I have really started to work hard on learning how to code/design,etc. I am new to this site, and fairly new to web design and coding. I just completed my first website (well, first that I coded completely with little outside help). http://ilikewallpaper.byethost9.com/ It's nothing special, but it's a start.

Anyways, on to my question. I wanted to challenge myself a bit mroe, so I found a free .psd on deviant art, that I am going to code just for practice. Here is the link: http://patqueisler.deviantart.com/ar...e-PSD-15021710

My question is how do I slice this? The background and main text area can just be one color, so I will need the oranges, the logo and the navigation right? How would I go about splicing the navigation? Would I just make each section (news, team, clients...etc) its own image and link that image to the corresponding page? I think heard/read somewhere that its not good to use images for buttons, but I don't know how to do this otherwise. Thanks for the help. :nervous:

Member #
    Liked
    205 times
    I think you mean "slice", no?

Member #
    Quote Originally Posted by smoseley
    I think you mean "slice", no?
    Yeah, oops. I mean slice.

Member #
    Liked
    1 times
    Don't slice the image.

Take bits and pieces from the image, and code it using tables or divs from scratch.
    Carnavia is a Web Design Company that specializes in Web Design, Graphics and Internet Marketing. You can visit their Web Design Blog to learn more.

Member #
    Quote Originally Posted by yousaysomething View Post
    Don't slice the image.

Take bits and pieces from the image, and code it using tables or divs from scratch.