Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Thread: 100% Divs?

Member #
    Hello I'm new around here (1st post!) I joined hoping that some of you more experienced could possibly help a novice like me. I'm not trained in web design/coding at all (I'm an architecture student dabbling in web design, I've always loved it!). I basically know enough to be able to manipulate certain things, everything I know has been self-taught through the many tutorials online.

This project I'm working on is for my godmother's husband who happens to be a photographer. He doesn't know code at all so my mission was to create a blog/gallery that would not require him to delve into any code. I'm implementing a mixture of Tumblr and Flickr (using Flogr for the gallery) to make it easy for him to manage the site.

unfortunately for me, my understanding of Divs and CSS is pretty bad (this is the first major site I worked on, the last time I played around with CSS was in Highschool 6 years ago!).

So my problem is that I can't seem to figure out how to make divs go 100% height wise to a page. I followed som tutorials but I don't think I'm doing something right. Here is an example page of what I mean:
    Yeehaw Jim!

It looks fine on my 15" macbook pro, but on larger screens it just cuts off.

If you need my stylesheets here is the location:
    http://yeehawjim.com/css/style.css

Also how do I prevent that scroll bar from popping up on the right side?

Be for warned, I'm definitely a novice at coding so don't laugh too hard when looking at my sloppy coding haha lol :-D (any tips/help to get better organized is appreciated). Remember this is my first site so go easy :-)