Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    7
    Member #
    24904
    Hello,

    I am trying to figure out why Firefox is showing a gap below my Flash banner that doesn't show in IE or Chrome.

    I have tried aligning everything above the gap to the bottom and aligning everything below the gap to the top but I still see a gap in Firefox.

    Can someone please take a look and tell me what I am doing wrong?

    Thank you for any input.

    Bocage Plantation

  2.  

  3. #2
    WDF Staff AlphaMare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,570
    Member #
    20277
    Liked
    878 times
    This is happening because your layout is in a table. Firefox has a default CSS of its own that automatically gives a 2 px border to the table if you don't reset the CSS in your stylesheet.

    Try taking the styling out of your page and into an external stylesheet. Then put this at the beginning of your stylesheet and see if it fixes the problem:
    Code:
    table {border-collapse: collapse; border-spacing: 0; }
    Or you can do what I do and avoid ALL the browser defaults by using the reset found HERE.

    BTW - where's the Bocage? Louisiana for sure. This time of year I sure miss the South - I used to work at the Fairgrounds Racetrack in New Orleans years ago. In any case, it's a gorgeous place - I wanna go visit!

    Cheers,
    Good design should never say "Look at me!"
    It should say "Look at this." ~ David Craib


    http://digitalinsite.ca ~ my current site . . info@digitalinsite.ca ~ my email

    If you feel that someone's post helped you fix your problem, answered your question, or just made you feel better, feel free to "Like" their post. The "Like" link is at the bottom right of each post, along side the "reply" link. And if you are being helped here, try to help someone else - pass it on!

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    7
    Member #
    24904
    I don't have a lot of experience with either CSS or includes but I have done what you suggested and still have the gap in Firefox.

    You can see my style sheet here that has you snippet.

    http://bocage2.audiblethinking.net/styles/styles.css

    Here is the page with the gap again.

    Bocage Plantation

    I am not sure if I did what you suggested wrong or if the suggestion wasnt the answer.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thank you.

  5. #4
    WDF Staff AlphaMare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,570
    Member #
    20277
    Liked
    878 times
    Take out the part I've highlighted in red and try again...

    Code:
    table {border-collapse: collapse; border-spacing: 0; } 
    <style type="text/css"> <!-- 
     body {margin-left: 0px; margin-top: 20px; background-image: url(images/bg001.jpg); } 
    .style3 { font-size: 18px; font-family: Georgia, "Times New Roman", Times, serif; color: #5A0B06; } 
    .style4 {font-family: Georgia, "Times New Roman", Times, serif} 
    .style5 {font-size: 12px} 
    .style6 {font-family: Georgia, "Times New Roman", Times, serif; font-size: 14px; } 
    .style7 {font-size: 14px} 
    .style8 {font-size: 14}
    .style12 {     font-family: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif;     font-size: 12px; } .style13 {color: #FFFFFF} 
    .style14 {color: #E4CB73} 
    .style18 {font-size: 14px; color: #000000; }
    Good design should never say "Look at me!"
    It should say "Look at this." ~ David Craib


    http://digitalinsite.ca ~ my current site . . info@digitalinsite.ca ~ my email

    If you feel that someone's post helped you fix your problem, answered your question, or just made you feel better, feel free to "Like" their post. The "Like" link is at the bottom right of each post, along side the "reply" link. And if you are being helped here, try to help someone else - pass it on!

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    7
    Member #
    24904
    I must have something wrong with my include because the background is not showing up.

    Bocage Plantation

    I changed the style sheet by deleting what you said to and the gap is still there but it may be because something is wrong with my include.

    Thanks.

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    7
    Member #
    24904
    I figured out why my background wasnt working and it is fixed now but the pesky gap is still there.

    Thanks.

  8. #7
    WDF Staff AlphaMare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,570
    Member #
    20277
    Liked
    878 times
    I'm still convinced it has to do with the browser defaults, but i am not familiar enough with Drupal to give more advice. I will keep playing with it in my spare time but hold out no great hope that i will solve it...
    Please let me know when you get it fixed -

    Good luck,
    Good design should never say "Look at me!"
    It should say "Look at this." ~ David Craib


    http://digitalinsite.ca ~ my current site . . info@digitalinsite.ca ~ my email

    If you feel that someone's post helped you fix your problem, answered your question, or just made you feel better, feel free to "Like" their post. The "Like" link is at the bottom right of each post, along side the "reply" link. And if you are being helped here, try to help someone else - pass it on!

  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    7
    Member #
    24904
    My site isn't a Drupal site. I am designing it in Dreamweaver 8 and the Flash element was produced in Flash 8.

    Thank you for all your time and help, I really do appreciate it.

    I will keep researching but so far I cant find the solution.

    Thanks.

  10. #9
    WDF Staff AlphaMare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,570
    Member #
    20277
    Liked
    878 times
    my mistake - mis-posted to the wrong forum.

    I have Dreamweaver CS4 and I'll take another look at your code over the weekend - got all kinds of yard and barn stuff to do here in the next couple of days before we get snow (YUCK!) so it'll be Sturday bight or so before I can play again.
    Good design should never say "Look at me!"
    It should say "Look at this." ~ David Craib


    http://digitalinsite.ca ~ my current site . . info@digitalinsite.ca ~ my email

    If you feel that someone's post helped you fix your problem, answered your question, or just made you feel better, feel free to "Like" their post. The "Like" link is at the bottom right of each post, along side the "reply" link. And if you are being helped here, try to help someone else - pass it on!

  11. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    7
    Member #
    24904
    I am still having the gap issue in Firefox. I stripped the page down to two basic elements, the Flash banner and a colored table cell below it.

    Can someone please take a look at this stripped down page to see what I am missing?

    Why is there a 5 pixel white space below the Flash?

    Untitled Document


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:39 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com