Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    4
    Member #
    25218
    Hi everyone,

    This is my first post here, i have tried to find something that would help before i posted but cant seem to find the right search words

    Anyways, a friend of mine is trying to get his site to show up correctly. Right now it works fine in Firefox, but in IE it shows up all the way to the rigth to where you need to scroll over to see it. I have the code i will post here...if someone know how to easily fix this, i am sure its a simple setting, i just dont know much at all about website code. Thanks a Lot!! I Appreciate it.
    Code:
    http://jacobsenlawn.com/
    I tried to put the html code in but it was too long, if you go to the site, then hit Page on the tool bar, and view source...itll all show up (if you know how to fix it im sure you already know that....THANK YOU!!!:-D:-D

  2.  

  3. #2
    WDF Staff AlphaMare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,570
    Member #
    20277
    Liked
    878 times
    WOW. I don't think I can help with your problem, since I don't really understand your code -I have not seen anything like it. There is more code commented out than anything else, all the CSS is in the HTML. That said, can you tell me what was used to create this code? I am very curious.

    Thanks,
    Good design should never say "Look at me!"
    It should say "Look at this." ~ David Craib


    http://digitalinsite.ca ~ my current site . . info@digitalinsite.ca ~ my email

    If you feel that someone's post helped you fix your problem, answered your question, or just made you feel better, feel free to "Like" their post. The "Like" link is at the bottom right of each post, along side the "reply" link. And if you are being helped here, try to help someone else - pass it on!

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    4
    Member #
    25218
    thanks

    yeah i am not sure what the code was made from....

    I will email the guy and see if he knows....It is probably a quick building thing from go daddy. I was thiking, since it was such a simple site, generate another simple site and replace it....maybe that is what we need to do...dont know. Thanks for taking a look though, i appreciate it!!

  5. #4
    Senior Member Dorky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Destin Florida
    Posts
    1,430
    Member #
    19103
    Liked
    4 times
    you can't break the doc-type like that. put it all in one line. also your friend has way to much xml for having no content. something very not right about that site. it looks like a cover for malicious intent.

    while($get_it !== true){ continue; }

  6. #5
    Senior Member aeroweb99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Port Huron, Michigan
    Posts
    1,037
    Member #
    16468
    Liked
    1 times
    It is a Microsoft product, I can't remember which one, but I've had to edit one for a friend and couldn't do it!

  7. #6
    Senior Member Dorky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Destin Florida
    Posts
    1,430
    Member #
    19103
    Liked
    4 times
    Microshaft! told you it was malicious. :P

    while($get_it !== true){ continue; }

  8. #7
    Senior Member aeroweb99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Port Huron, Michigan
    Posts
    1,037
    Member #
    16468
    Liked
    1 times
    It's like building something in Word then "save for web", just wrong!

    Dorky how you been dude! I haven't been here in a while, soooo busy. Trying to get back, I miss the forum.

  9. #8
    WDF Staff AlphaMare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,570
    Member #
    20277
    Liked
    878 times
    OK - I had an afternoon free and spent some time trying to figure out what the heck that code was all about.

    I finally gave up and threw this together - Jacobsen Lawn Service

    Take a look at the source and see where you could take it from there.

    I do suggest he gets separate hosting - right now it looks like he is using GoDaddy's free hosting, which throws a bunch of ads onto his site.

    He can get shared hosting for $25 a year at Shared Web Hosting | A Small Orange Web Hosting - the "Tiny" plan would be way more than enough space for the three pages on his site.

    Cheers,
    Good design should never say "Look at me!"
    It should say "Look at this." ~ David Craib


    http://digitalinsite.ca ~ my current site . . info@digitalinsite.ca ~ my email

    If you feel that someone's post helped you fix your problem, answered your question, or just made you feel better, feel free to "Like" their post. The "Like" link is at the bottom right of each post, along side the "reply" link. And if you are being helped here, try to help someone else - pass it on!

  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    4
    Member #
    25218
    Quote Originally Posted by AlphaMare View Post
    OK - I had an afternoon free and spent some time trying to figure out what the heck that code was all about.

    I finally gave up and threw this together - Jacobsen Lawn Service

    Take a look at the source and see where you could take it from there.

    I do suggest he gets separate hosting - right now it looks like he is using GoDaddy's free hosting, which throws a bunch of ads onto his site.

    He can get shared hosting for $25 a year at Shared Web Hosting | A Small Orange Web Hosting - the "Tiny" plan would be way more than enough space for the three pages on his site.

    Cheers,


    Hey thanks a lot for taking the time!! I truly appreciate it. I will pass the file down to him and see if it makes it better. I have no clue about web code and things like that, i wish i did, i have been trying to learn with dreamweaver a bit, but that does a lot for you OK thank you very much for this, i appreciate it.

  11. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    4
    Member #
    25218
    Quote Originally Posted by aeroweb99 View Post
    It's like building something in Word then "save for web", just wrong!
    I think you were right....this is what i got from him:

    I made it with publisher 2007. It was published to the web with pub 2010 from Ally's lap top. She uses firefox


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:29 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com