Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    148
    Member #
    26229
    Liked
    1 times
    Hey all,

    After a bit of help with some CSS

    The problem is that I've built a site and am ready to load it to a server. I did it all on a MAC and everything is working in Textedit & Safari with the files I have. Problems started when I've zipped the file and sent on to people.

    I've also just found out that in Internet Explorer, specified text, background image and div placement aren't picked up so looks like it's not reading my CSS at all.

    Does anyone know why this is?

    My CSS is currently in the main folder, with the pages. Is that right? or do you recommend it being in a separate one?

    What I'm asking is I suppose, how do I ensure my CSS is picked up by all internet browsers?

    This is probably pretty basic, but as you can probably tell I'm a bit new to the development side, mainly concentrating in front end design.

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member Dorky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Destin Florida
    Posts
    1,430
    Member #
    19103
    Liked
    4 times
    did you use relative urls ?
    did they reconstruct the directories correctly?

    this isn't a browser issue

    never let someone else install your work. they will ALWAYS botch it.

    while($get_it !== true){ continue; }

  4. #3
    Unpaid WDF Intern TheGAME1264's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Not from USA
    Posts
    14,483
    Member #
    425
    Liked
    2783 times
    Did you only zip the page, or did you zip the page, CSS, etc. in a way that would include both the page and all of the associated files (CSS file, images, etc.)? You'll need all of the files, and as Dorky said, you'll have to reference them using relative URLs.

    As Dorky also said, if you want to load it onto a server, you really should do this yourself. Not just for the experience and learning part, but just to avoid anyone else screwing up your work.
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

    If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

    My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)

  5. #4
    Senior Member Dorky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Destin Florida
    Posts
    1,430
    Member #
    19103
    Liked
    4 times
    well, not have to. the problem is, by his post, the site was not built on the server. so the urls may be invalid due to directory structure when it was built vs the directory structure of the server.

    ../images may actually be .../images on the server.

    while($get_it !== true){ continue; }


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:21 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com