Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    I am just beginning to learn html and css, so I apologize if I ask a lot of stupid questions.

I am trying to use an image as a header at the top of my page. The textbook that I am learning from suggests that instead of just putting the image in the html, it is better to have a text header that is positioned off the page, and then use CSS to make the image the background to the header.

Following this advice, I have something like this
    css:
    Code:
    h1	{text-indent: -9999px;
    	background-image: url(images/my_image.gif);
    	background-repeat: no-repeat;
    	background-color: #502d0e;
    	background-position: center;}
    html:
    HTML Code:
    <h1 id="banner"> Some text here </h1>
    This is not displaying the image correctly though. The top and bottom of the image are both being cut off, and there is some white space above and to the sides of the image that I do no not want. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks!

Member #
    Liked
    4 times
    the reason for this is html only views of the page will not see your header and search engines will not index the info in an image.

div.header {
    position: relative;
    width: 100%;
    height: whatever;

background-image: url(images/my_image.gif);
    background-position: center;}

div.header h1 {
    display: none;
    }

you need to specify a width & height for the div or it will collapse without the h1 displayed.

while($get_it !== true){ continue; }

Member #
    Thanks for the help. I'm not sure I really understand it though. To be honest, I am pretty confused about what div is used for in general.

Why do I need to use div here? Would it not be possible to just assign a height and width to the h1 directly?