Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Junior Member Maj.Malfunction's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Gilbert, AZ
    Posts
    3
    Member #
    27806
    I am building a website for a furniture store and they wish to have a catalog of what they sell. Problem is it would be huge. They sell multiple companies furniture and each has many many pieces...

    Simple solution: link to vendors site/catalog for each company.

    Not a viable solution as all vendors have a "locate a dealer near you" thing and my client doesn't want that anywhere on their site. (obvious reason (shopping around))


    Is there any way I can link to a vendor site and script/code in a way to block out or not display the locate us stuff?


    thank you.

  2.  

  3. #2
    WDF Staff AlphaMare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,570
    Member #
    20277
    Liked
    878 times
    I don't think so. The locator is part of the vendor's site and you are not in control of their code.
    Good design should never say "Look at me!"
    It should say "Look at this." ~ David Craib


    http://digitalinsite.ca ~ my current site . . info@digitalinsite.ca ~ my email

    If you feel that someone's post helped you fix your problem, answered your question, or just made you feel better, feel free to "Like" their post. The "Like" link is at the bottom right of each post, along side the "reply" link. And if you are being helped here, try to help someone else - pass it on!

  4. #3
    Junior Member Maj.Malfunction's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Gilbert, AZ
    Posts
    3
    Member #
    27806
    that's kinda what I'm thinking but i was curious if there was maybe a script (js, maybe wrong forum section) that is our site stayed up it would run and delete any reference to store locators in the links source.

  5. #4
    Unpaid WDF Intern TheGAME1264's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Not from USA
    Posts
    14,483
    Member #
    425
    Liked
    2783 times
    What Mare said.

    What you're better off doing is to do what I do...take the products off each vendor's site, rewrite the descriptions and edit the pictures (partly because most manufacturer descriptions are terrible from a marketing point of view and partly for Google-related reasons), and add them to your site slowly. More work, but much more reward.

    If/when I link to a manufacturer's site, I use an iframe. That way, the user doesn't leave my site. You won't be able to control if they use a dealer locator, but you can at least control the frame that surrounds it. This is usually the only thing I use an iframe for (some upload component progress bars use an iframe, but it's rare when I use those.)
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

    If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

    My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:18 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com