Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Liked
    3 times
    Hi all,

As I am just learning I have no real design or files that I can upload, I only have a "test page" which I have created to test the code I have learned which includes a couple of random images, paragraphs etc.

The problem I am having is trying to understand how I can use an image as a the background for my web page. I think it may be to do with the size of the image being used. The test code and CSS I have written to use this image as a background results in the image being tiled until it reaches the end of the page, which is not the effect I was hoping for, is this to do with the size of the page versus the size of the image?

I assume that because the dimensions of the image are smaller than the dimensions of the page that is why this has happened? I want to have the image fill the whole page for as far as it needs to scroll without the tiling effect, will I have to edit the size of the image in photoshop to fit the page? or is it simply the way that the code is written which determines this?

I hope that makes sense, I do have files that I can upload to show what I have written but as I said, it's just nonsense at the moment and has only been written to see the effects of the code.

The image by the way was just pulled from a google search and the size is 500 x 500 px

Member #
    Liked
    416 times
    You can specify 'background-repeat: no-repeat' and it will remove the tile effect. But if you want to stretch the whole image across the page, then yes, you will have to resize it with an outside program.
    You can also specify 'background-position' for added control.
    This page will give you more info.
    My freelancer website: DolidzeDesign