Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Junior Member Mike Chalmers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Edinburgh, United Kingdom
    Posts
    7
    Member #
    28869
    Hi folks,

    I'm putting together a dance website just now and have uploaded a test version with a couple of pages.

    It looks fine in my browsers (mac: Chrome and Safari) but I tested it on iPhone and in Browser Labs and both appeared as if with no stylesheets (basic elements, no styles on backgrounds or divs etc.).

    EDIT: In Browserlabs the Safari version looks fine, it's IE, Firefox that aren't working. But also Safari for iPhone. I tried it on Firefox 3.6 (mac) and no styling..

    EDIT 2: I tried putting all the css into the head of the page and it works fine there. Perhaps this is something to do with the relationship between the page and the css file, but I still can't figure it out..

    Anyone got any idea what's going on?

    The address is: http://errolwhitecompany.co.uk/temp/index.php

  2.  

  3. #2
    Junior Member Mike Chalmers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Edinburgh, United Kingdom
    Posts
    7
    Member #
    28869
    For the time being I have used a PHP include to bring the stylesheets onto the page. I'd still like to know what's going on, if anyone can help.

  4. #3
    Unpaid WDF Intern TheGAME1264's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Not from USA
    Posts
    14,483
    Member #
    425
    Liked
    2783 times
    I can't see anything wrong with either IE or FF. The styles definitely loaded. Mind you, you'd have to upload it with all your styles in the external stylesheet so we could see what's going on in better detail.
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

    If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

    My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)

  5. #4
    Junior Member Mike Chalmers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Edinburgh, United Kingdom
    Posts
    7
    Member #
    28869
    Yeah, since I added the PHP include it works okay - but this is the same as having the styles at the top of each page.

    I've removed the include on a new page for your viewing pleasure:

    http://errolwhitecompany.co.uk/temp/index_without.php

    Thanks for replying.

  6. #5
    WDF Staff AlphaMare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,570
    Member #
    20277
    Liked
    878 times
    Instead of :
    [COLOR=rgb(0, 0, 0)]<link type="[COLOR=rgb(255, 0, 0)]html[/COLOR]/css" href="style.css" rel="stylesheet" lang="en"> [/COLOR]
    Try this for your stylesheet link
    [COLOR=rgb(0, 0, 0)]<link type="[COLOR=rgb(255, 0, 0)]text[/COLOR]/css" href="style.css" rel="stylesheet" lang="en"> [/COLOR]
    Good design should never say "Look at me!"
    It should say "Look at this." ~ David Craib


    http://digitalinsite.ca ~ my current site . . info@digitalinsite.ca ~ my email

    If you feel that someone's post helped you fix your problem, answered your question, or just made you feel better, feel free to "Like" their post. The "Like" link is at the bottom right of each post, along side the "reply" link. And if you are being helped here, try to help someone else - pass it on!

  7. #6
    Junior Member Mike Chalmers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Edinburgh, United Kingdom
    Posts
    7
    Member #
    28869
    Niccce. That seems to work. I looked at the link closely, but I had used the same code in a previous website without any problems..

    Thanks for your help!

  8. #7
    WDF Staff AlphaMare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,570
    Member #
    20277
    Liked
    878 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike Chalmers, post: 216103
    Niccce. That seems to work. I looked at the link closely, but I had used the same code in a previous website without any problems..

    Thanks for your help!
    There could be any number of reasons for that - the DOCTYPE may havae been different on that previous website, browser updates could affect it, your guess and mine, really.
    Just glad it is working now.
    Good design should never say "Look at me!"
    It should say "Look at this." ~ David Craib


    http://digitalinsite.ca ~ my current site . . info@digitalinsite.ca ~ my email

    If you feel that someone's post helped you fix your problem, answered your question, or just made you feel better, feel free to "Like" their post. The "Like" link is at the bottom right of each post, along side the "reply" link. And if you are being helped here, try to help someone else - pass it on!

  9. #8
    Junior Member Mike Chalmers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Edinburgh, United Kingdom
    Posts
    7
    Member #
    28869
    Yeah, thanks again for your help.


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:14 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com