Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2
    Member #
    29198
    Hi all,
    Im pulling my hair out at this one. Ive created a webpage with my CV on it and in FF and chrome it loos OK, IE however the section names are missing.
    The webpage is http://www.neil.imahenderson.net
    Could anyone in these forums point me in the right direction, there is no server technology just a static web page at the moment.
    Thank in advance.
    I will learn something too

  2.  

  3. #2
    WDF Staff AlphaMare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,570
    Member #
    20277
    Liked
    878 times
    You must be using IE9 - I checked it in Adobe browserlab, and It looks fine in Firefox 4 & 5 (for both Windows and OSX), Chrome 11 & 13, Safari 5, Opera 11, and IE 6, 7, and 8. The only one it has problems with is IE 9.
    I think you'll have to put some IE-specific code into your CSS to make it work, and I wish I could tell you what, but I'm not running IE 9 yet, so I can't test it.
    Good design should never say "Look at me!"
    It should say "Look at this." ~ David Craib


    http://digitalinsite.ca ~ my current site . . info@digitalinsite.ca ~ my email

    If you feel that someone's post helped you fix your problem, answered your question, or just made you feel better, feel free to "Like" their post. The "Like" link is at the bottom right of each post, along side the "reply" link. And if you are being helped here, try to help someone else - pass it on!

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2
    Member #
    29198
    Thanks for looking at it AlphaMare. After checking it properly I am useing IE9 and FF6. Also thanks for the link to Browserlab. Never used it or heard of it before.

  5. #4
    WDF Staff AlphaMare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,570
    Member #
    20277
    Liked
    878 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Neil Henderson, post: 218833
    Thanks for looking at it AlphaMare. After checking it properly I am useing IE9 and FF6. Also thanks for the link to Browserlab. Never used it or heard of it before.
    I am currently limited to one machine, and I don't want to have multiple copies of the different browsers on it - one copy of each is enough. I tend to run at least one version behind, so when I test during development I can see what the majority of users will see. Then when it's all but finished, I go to Browserlabs and test on everything they have listed. If there are problems, it helps me to narrow down which browser and version is the problem, and I can usually figure out what it is (usually some version of IE, of course) and fix it fairly swiftly.
    Good design should never say "Look at me!"
    It should say "Look at this." ~ David Craib


    http://digitalinsite.ca ~ my current site . . info@digitalinsite.ca ~ my email

    If you feel that someone's post helped you fix your problem, answered your question, or just made you feel better, feel free to "Like" their post. The "Like" link is at the bottom right of each post, along side the "reply" link. And if you are being helped here, try to help someone else - pass it on!

  6. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Fairfax, CA
    Posts
    2,036
    Member #
    28003
    Liked
    126 times


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:30 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com