Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Frame questions

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    6
    Member #
    2249
    Question about frames...

    I have site using frames; static top bar, main or content frame and a bottom nav.bar.

    Of course, the main frame content changes as you click on the nav. buttons but if I also need to change the bottom frame when I click on a certain button (it's a bi-lingual site.. I need to go to the 2nd language nav. bar as well as change content)..

    how do I code this??

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member Grommet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Stuart, Fl
    Posts
    459
    Member #
    2129
    Liked
    3 times
    This isnt exactly a graphics and flash question more of a HTML question. One of the mods will move this for you.

    add this to your HTML

    <script>
    function loadwin(strPage1,strPage2)
    {
    window.open(strPage1, "framename");
    window.open(strPage2, "framename");
    }
    </script>

    On the window.open functions your gonna need to set where it says framename to whatever you named your frames.

    and the links should look like this:
    <a href="javascript:loadwin('page1.html','page2.html' )">Link</a>
    Jason Anderson
    Grommet Designs
    Web / Graphic Design

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    6
    Member #
    2249
    thank's a lot..that will work for me.

  5. #4
    WDF Staff smoseley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    9,729
    Member #
    819
    Liked
    205 times
    I don't think that's the best way to go about it... you should encapsulate the two content frames into one frame, like this:

    index.htm:
    Code:
    <frameset name="outer" rows="100, *">
        <frame name="banner" src="banner.htm" />
        <frame name="content" src="english/" />
    </frameset>
    english/index.htm:
    Code:
    <frameset name="outer" rows="25, *, 50">
        <frame name="main" src="english/links.htm" />
        <frame name="main" src="english/home.htm" />
        <frame name="bottom" src="english/bottom.htm" />
    </frameset>
    Then, have a link in the "banner" frame that changes the "content" frame to english, spanish, whatever.

  6. #5
    Senior Member Grommet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Stuart, Fl
    Posts
    459
    Member #
    2129
    Liked
    3 times
    Im not really a frames wizard so your way might be better.

    Shouldnt you move this thread though
    Jason Anderson
    Grommet Designs
    Web / Graphic Design

  7. #6
    WDF Staff smoseley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    9,729
    Member #
    819
    Liked
    205 times
    The way I showed wouldn't require javascript.

    Moving thread now

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    6
    Member #
    2249
    thanks ...

    sorry about the posting in the wrong area...


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:24 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com