Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23

Thread: Table problem

  1. #11
    WDF Staff smoseley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    9,729
    Member #
    819
    Liked
    205 times
    Jens,

    The code you posted is fine. It works perfectly here. But iit's also not the page in your screenshot. My best guess is that your site has an extra <td> somewhere near the end, which is not allowing the outer "border" table to close, thus causing your problems.

    Can you post a link to your site so we can see the source?

    Thanks
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2.  

  3. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    28
    Member #
    2437
    Well I posted the source in one of my above posts. The page itself is secured as I don't want the visitors to see what I'm working on

  4. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    735
    Member #
    1935
    the home.html page had some errors in it.

  5. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    28
    Member #
    2437
    Well I'm doing it with css now so that's not a problem anymore. I just want to know how you make a class for a table that when you split a cell into several columns or rows where the spliting is done (the line) it shows the line. This was the case with this previous way I did it but it isn't with CSS. You have to create a new class everytime you want a border at a specific side.

  6. #15
    Senior Member Grommet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Stuart, Fl
    Posts
    459
    Member #
    2129
    Liked
    3 times
    you dont have to only allow td's to use the border if you want:

    Heres how to set a class for anything to use:
    .classname {css goes here}

    And here is how to set it for a certain tag (
    use any tag in place of td pretty much).

    td.classname {css goes here}
    Jason Anderson
    Grommet Designs
    Web / Graphic Design

  7. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    28
    Member #
    2437
    Ok, thanks Grommet I already solved it with .borderright, .borderleft and all and then using multiple classes on a table Anyway, the problem is back even when I use CSS. I really don't get what's wrong with it!

    Here's the code again, organized: (I changed it a lot, but still the same bug)

    <table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" height="100%" valign="top">
    <tr valign="top">
    <td valign="top">
    <table class="border normalfont" cellpadding="4" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" height="100%" valign="top">
    <tr valign="top">
    <td class="cat borderbottom" height="1" valign="top">
    Developer
    </td>
    </tr>
    <tr valign="top" valign="top">
    <td class="lightgrey" valign="top">
    <center>
    <a href="http://www.bluefang.com" target="_blank">
    <img src="../images/bluefang.gif" width="65" height="102" border="0">
    </a>
    </center>
    </td>
    </tr>
    </table>
    </td>
    </tr>
    </table>

  8. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    735
    Member #
    1935
    there is nothing wrong with that code except youve got 2 valign="top" inside one of your <tr> tags..
    I dont think we can help you much more. You will have to use the old fashioned way of trial and error.

  9. #18
    WDF Staff smoseley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    9,729
    Member #
    819
    Liked
    205 times
    I found your problem after much deliberation.

    The height="100%" is what's doing it.

    Apparently, what's causing the problem is the embedded table having a height of 100%... it's forcing an overlap of the outer table, which has a height of 100% also.

    Because the height="100%" property isn't fully or equally supported by all browsers, I suggest you try using something else, like this CSS implementation:
    Code:
    <table width="100%"
        style="width: 100%; 
            height: 100%; 
            border: <?=$tableouterborderwidth ?>px solid <?=$tablebordercolor ?>;"  
        cellspacing="0" 
        border="0" <?=$tableouterextra ?> >

  10. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    28
    Member #
    2437
    Thanks for trying to fix the problem transio. But it didn't work either. Did you test this yourself? The code is now this (I deleted all the vars because I'm working with CSS now.

    <table style="width: 100%; height: 100%; border: 0px solid;" cellspacing="0" border="0">
    <tr>
    <td>
    <table class="border normalfont" cellpadding="4" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" height="100%">
    <tr valign="top">
    <td class="cat borderbottom" height="1">
    Developer
    </td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <td class="lightgrey" valign="top">
    <center>
    <a href="http://www.bluefang.com" target="_blank">
    <img src="../images/bluefang.gif" width="65" height="102" border="0">
    </a>
    </center>
    </td>
    </tr>
    </table>
    </td>
    </tr>
    </table>

  11. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    735
    Member #
    1935
    try using pixel values instead of percentage.


Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:16 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com