Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Web Design Help

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    2
    Member #
    29864
    Hi Friends,

    I've a html based website (.html pages), every time i make any change on header or right side bar or footer ... i've to go to each n every page and make changes. How do i make these sections "static" so that when ever i make change on the home page it gets updated on each n every page? Friends can you help me out on this, thanks...

  2.  

  3. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Fairfax, CA
    Posts
    2,036
    Member #
    28003
    Liked
    126 times
    Alright, here's what you have to do. First off, make the files end in .php instead of .html.
    Then, move the portion of the content you edit often into it's own file (for example header.php) in the same folder as all the other ones.
    Then instead of the code on the actual page put <?php include("header.php"); ?> (for example)
    Makes sense?
    If you need a better explanation here you go:
    http://www.w3schools.com/php/php_includes.asp

  4. #3
    Unpaid WDF Intern TheGAME1264's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Not from USA
    Posts
    14,483
    Member #
    425
    Liked
    2783 times
    They don't have to end in PHP (although that's an option). Any server-side programming language will do, or even SSI Includes.

    Basically, your answer comes down to either an include file or a Master Page (in ASP.net).
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

    If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

    My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    2
    Member #
    29864
    Quote Originally Posted by TheGAME1264, post: 223692
    They don't have to end in PHP (although that's an option). Any server-side programming language will do, or even SSI Includes.

    Basically, your answer comes down to either an include file or a Master Page (in ASP.net).
    Hi,

    can u pls. tell me that with .html pages how do i resolve it (in steps), thanks

  6. #5
    WDF Staff m3n0tu18's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Devon, UK
    Posts
    1,473
    Member #
    28473
    Liked
    265 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Sunny Goyal, post: 223694
    Hi,

    can u pls. tell me that with .html pages how do i resolve it (in steps), thanks
    Both what game and shovenose said is correct. Unfortunately with .html you cant really do it. You will need to convert the pages to either .asp or .php this is simply done by renaming the file to .asp or .php You could also look at going down the route of a simple cms (content management system) THIS cms is what I started on to get to know setups etc. You will be able to do everything you asked in the original question and it will be more effective for you.

    Hope this helps

    -m3
    If you like my comments to your thread please click the LIKE button

    Check out my portfolio: Here!
    View my company Facebook Page
    View my company Website

    <<Plrease ignoer my typo's I have isdexlyia>>

  7. #6
    Senior Member Webzarus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    South Carolina Coast
    Posts
    3,322
    Member #
    27709
    Liked
    770 times
    Or if you use an editor that can do a find/replace ( I think notepad++ does this ), your still actually editing all the pages, but it's doable without much fuss... Just gotta remember to reupload all the pages each time.

    Moving forward this is something to plan out, again, depending on what your hosting provider supports, includes are real easy ins .asp. Or .php, master pages in asp.net are a little more tricky. Most of the hosting providers I know of dropped support for ssi ( .shtml )... But I haven't been looking for it for quite a while. Using .shtml is like going backwards as php and asp do includes much more efficiently.

  8. #7
    Unpaid WDF Intern TheGAME1264's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Not from USA
    Posts
    14,483
    Member #
    425
    Liked
    2783 times
    Some of the more budget hosting providers still offer it. I've even seen one or two recently that only offer it on certain plans and none of the server-side programming languages (the names of the hosts escape me, although it isn't very common.)
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

    If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

    My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)

  9. #8
    Senior Member Ronald Roe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    3,141
    Member #
    27197
    Liked
    959 times
    I haven't tried it myself yet, as I prefer the PHP include option, but jQuery has the .load() method, which can also load external HTML.
    Ron Roe
    Web Developer
    "If every app were designed using the same design template, oh wait...Bootstrap."


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:44 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com