Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Junior Member Charles Francis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    28
    Member #
    29065
    Ok so I have been working on this website mainly through Firefox & Safari and every few days I view it in Opera and Internet Explorer just to examine how it renders across all browsers and I should also mention that every browser is updated to the latest final releases of each browser... along with Parallels running Internet Explorer 8 on a Mac... and VirtualBox running Internet Explorer 7 another machine...

    The problem that I am encountering is that the <iframe> that holds the menu for each page is disappearing in Internet Explorer 7 (the clients browser). I told them simply to upgrade their browser because it is extremely outdated but they refuse (long story) and apparently they have been receiving complaints from some of their clients/visitors about the site not being functional in Internet Explorer 7...

    I have tried so many "fixes" on my own that could have solved my issue, with no luck.. So now I come to my friends here at WDF... If there is anyone that could shed some light on a fix for this, I would most definitely appreciate it...

    The site is located at - http://www.pilcreativegroup.com/clients/playaresorts/

  2.  

  3. #2
    Unpaid WDF Intern TheGAME1264's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Not from USA
    Posts
    14,483
    Member #
    425
    Liked
    2783 times
    "Upgrade your browser" isn't an answer. It just isn't. You can't force someone to choose the browser you want or even upgrade their own. You have to work around that. Period.

    IE7 isn't really your problem here, either. It's your symptom. I can only think of one reason that you'd put a menu inside of an iframe, and it's not a very good one. I'm guessing that you want to be able to change the menu/layout without having to change every page on the site, which means that what you really want is a server-side include, be it a PHP include, SHTML include, ASP include, ASP.net master page, whatever. But a server-side include will:

    1) give you the same functionality that you're looking for with the menu iframe (i.e. one file for the menu).

    2) Be cross-browser compatible (assuming you're doing it right).

    3) Make your site more search-engine friendly. Search engines are better at crawling frames/iframes than they used to be, but it's still a hassle for them, so why make it any harder?

    In other words, the reason you can't find a fix to your problem is because your problem is a conceptual one, not a technical one.
    Charles Francis likes this.
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

    If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

    My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)

  4. #3
    Junior Member Charles Francis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    28
    Member #
    29065
    Wow, thanks a lot for that info... its funny because I was just reading another one of your posts and ended up on your websites in your sig... But definitely, I will try switching everything over to php and see if the includes will solve my prob... once again thanks!

  5. #4
    Junior Member Charles Francis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    28
    Member #
    29065
    @TheGAME1264 - I have created a "testIndex.php" file and a "testMenu.php" file, and placed them in the root my website and place the code
    PHP Code:
    <?php include("testMenu.php"); ?>
    in place of the <iframe> code, but now nothings showing up at all... Any suggestions?

    the "testIndex.php" page can be viewed here - http://www.pilcreativegroup.com/clie.../testIndex.php

    and the "testMenu.php" page can be viewed here - http://www.pilcreativegroup.com/clie...s/testMenu.php

  6. #5
    Unpaid WDF Intern TheGAME1264's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Not from USA
    Posts
    14,483
    Member #
    425
    Liked
    2783 times
    You've sort of got the idea, but not quite.

    Your include file in this case won't be a page by itself, but rather a section of a page. For example, if you wanted to include a logo, you'd do something like this (the code's not the greatest because I'm doing it on the fly):
    Code:
     
    <html>
    
      <head>
      <title>My Page</title>
    
      </head>
     
    <body>
    
    <?php include "logo.php"?>
     </body>
    </html>
    And then, for the logo.php file, you'd have:
    Code:
    <div id="logo"><a href="#"><img src="logo.jpg" width="100" height="100" alt="Logo" /></a></div>
    That would be the entire contents of your include file. If you do it right, the contents of the include file itself will look unformatted and ugly. That's because the include file merges with the page itself at the point you use it (in this case...there are more advanced cases that don't, but they're not applicable here) to make one output page.

    So your final HTML code would look like:
    Code:
     
    <html>
    
      <head>
      <title>My Page</title>
    
      </head>
     
    <body>
    
    <div id="logo"><a href="#"><img src="logo.jpg" width="100" height="100" alt="Logo" /></a></div>
    </body>
    </html>
    And everything's merged together. Hopefully that makes sense.

    And thanks for looking at my stuff.
    Charles Francis likes this.
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

    If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

    My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)

  7. #6
    Junior Member Charles Francis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    28
    Member #
    29065
    Thanks a lot for the info TheGAME1264, I really appreciate it, honestly i do, but is their any other way around this because i separated everything up into different php files and the menu is just not operating as it should... i do understand the concepts of php but maybe im missing something... I am still using the same links from above and I am not getting through...

  8. #7
    Unpaid WDF Intern TheGAME1264's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Not from USA
    Posts
    14,483
    Member #
    425
    Liked
    2783 times
    That's because your problem is no longer a PHP problem, it's an HTML/Javascript problem.

    For some reason, you're using h3 tags for your menu items and not links. They're menu items. They should be links. I also don't see anything on the surface that would trigger a submenu.
    Charles Francis likes this.
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

    If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

    My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)

  9. #8
    Junior Member Charles Francis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    28
    Member #
    29065
    ok, so i have completely rebuilt the menu system now and loaded the files separately in php and still nothing... as a matter of fact it currently works (displays) in IE5.5, IE6, IE8, IE9, and all updated versions of FF, Safari, Opera, & Chrome... but not IE7, i just don't understand why this isn't displaying at all, its just blank... its like that browser refuses to work for me...

    what do you think it could be now?

  10. #9
    Unpaid WDF Intern TheGAME1264's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Not from USA
    Posts
    14,483
    Member #
    425
    Liked
    2783 times
    Actually, in Chrome it's hidden behind the pictures and there's a reason for that: your logo has no float associated with it, whereas your menu does, so it's forcing it below the logo (which is probably what's happening in IE7). Put your logo inside of a div, float the div to the left, make sure you specify the width (height optional) and you'll at least be closer, if not okay.
    Charles Francis likes this.
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

    If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

    My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)

  11. #10
    Junior Member Charles Francis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    28
    Member #
    29065
    ok sooooooo TheGame1264, im going to search for every one of your posts on WebDesignForums.net and "LIKE" them all! lol... Floating the Logo Left most definitely solved the issue for the new menu system that i built using the php include method... though it didn't work for the iframes method that I already had in place... I rather use your method of going about it anyway, as your method makes more sense for everyone involved.... and like mentioned before is better for search engines, etc... and actually functions better better as well.... so i definitely want to say THANK YOU so much for your continuous efforts to help me with this issue, as i mentioned before i really appreciate it...
    Best Regards,
    Charles Francis


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

ie iframe disappears

,
ie7 iframe disappears
,
ie8 iframe dispear
,
iframe disapear ie7
,
iframe disappears on ie
Click on a term to search for related topics.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:50 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com