Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Hello!

Since this is my first post on this forum, I'll introduce myself. My name is Ryan and I'm a 21 year old amateur web designer from Florida, US. I got my first taste of HTML when I was 13, and have since used tutorials and lessons online to learn the basic languages of the web (HTML, CSS, and a little Javascript).

However, my lack of a formal education in web design leaves some doubts in regards to "proper practice".

The above represents a portion of a website I'm working on. The trouble I'm having is with the "content" area. Basically, there are going to be a lot of "options" on the right side, and all of the content is going to be fairly similar. It seems like it would be tedious and unnecessary to make an entirely new page for each option, so I was thinking of making the "content" area an iframe, which would load a different page when each option is chosen.

Is this bad practice? Any suggestions or alternatives would be greatly appreciated!

Member #
    Liked
    2783 times
    In a word..."yes". It's very bad practice. It's search-engine unfriendly and could lead to multiple scrollbars, which is user-unfriendly (more important issue in this case).

What you want to do instead is look at some form of a server-side include. You can separate your layout from your content and it will merge into one file as far as the user is concerned.

If you're going to do more advanced stuff, look at using a server-side include from a language such as PHP, ASP.NET or (classic) ASP.

But at least you had the right thought in mind.
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.