Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Thread: Website Layout

Member #
    Hello everyone,
    I must apologize. While I am new to this particular forum, I am not new to forums in general and know the rule to search for a topic before just posting a question. Hopefully after I introduce myself and explain my current situation, you'll forgive me.

My name is Bill Denny. I am currently serving my last few months of deployment aboard the USS Bataan. Internet is painfully slow, each page takes a handful of minutes to load, so I try to be as efficient as possible when it comes to surfing, hence not spending time searching posts for my question.

I picked up web design as a hobby to keep my mind entertained while serving out this DET. I'm building a encyclopedia-type website with many pages while utilizing both HTML and CSS. It soon became obvious how much of a pain it is to make small changes to elements common to each page.

They say a picture is worth a thousand words...

Hopefully, that picture attached properly.

This is the basic layout of virtually every page of the site, what I hope I can do it have sections A, B and C (the header, navigation bar and footer respectively...) remain static, and all links and page changes occur in section D, the main body of each page. Then I could add a link to the nav bar, or update the header and footer, and that change is reflected in every page, instead of going through each and every page and changing it.

If you know how to do this, let me know, or if you know of any links, I'll try to get to them. You can help me out here, or email me at william.denny@bataan.usmc.mil, email is a much easier for me to access, but I will make an effort to check the forums from time to time.

Thank you so much in advance

LCpl Denny

Member #