Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    52
    Member #
    17852
    http://danwintersphoto.com/

    I want to design a site very similar to the one above, but using HTML5 and CSS3 as much as possible (The site above uses Flash)

    Can someone point me to a tutorial that would help me?

    Basically what I'm looking for is the changing of content when a user clicks the navigation links without having to leave the page - it's so elegant, I want to emulate that!

    Thanks all!

  2.  

  3. #2
    WDF Staff AlphaMare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,570
    Member #
    20277
    Liked
    878 times
    The way I would do that would be to have the images and thumbnails called into a div with PHP includes, which in turn would be specified in a javascript menu, and positioned with CSS.

    See www.roysimsdisplay.com for an example of how this might work. All the divs are separate files, called into the page with PHP includes,and positioned with CSS. (try to ignore the quality of the client-supplied images!)

    I'm pretty sure I posted this somewhere before now, I think with a zip of code examples - I'll try to find it for you if you want.

    EDIT: here's a zip of the main page template - you can get an idea from this.
    Good design should never say "Look at me!"
    It should say "Look at this." ~ David Craib


    http://digitalinsite.ca ~ my current site . . info@digitalinsite.ca ~ my email

    If you feel that someone's post helped you fix your problem, answered your question, or just made you feel better, feel free to "Like" their post. The "Like" link is at the bottom right of each post, along side the "reply" link. And if you are being helped here, try to help someone else - pass it on!

  4. #3
    Senior Member Kayo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Brampton Ontario
    Posts
    416
    Member #
    14523
    Liked
    39 times
    You better learn how to use jQuery.
    http://api.jquery.com/jQuery.ajax/

  5. #4
    Junior Member RjapzDesigns's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    17
    Member #
    31965
    html1,2,3,4 and 5 - css1,2 and 3 - they all work together and do the same thing, not much any difference. Only when the site layout shows in different browsers, its forever in issue with that. Well, check out this Youtube vid, I was surfing for Dreamweaver tutorials and came across this vid, I guess you can watch all the parts if you want. But check out part 7 below, this might give you an idea of what your looking for, he shows you how to click on a link without leaving the page.

    Let me know if this helped?

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    52
    Member #
    17852
    I downloaded Adobe Edge... which sounds like it might do what I'm asking... hey, it's free for the next 55 days, so we'll see, lol!

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Posts
    33
    Member #
    31990
    Liked
    3 times
    It all looks like it can be done with CSS3 transitions.

    Edge may be your answer if you can't code it yourself.

  8. #7
    Junior Member SimplyWebsites's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Leicester
    Posts
    27
    Member #
    32160
    This is basically asking how to code.... read up on jQuery.

  9. #8
    Senior Member Noteleklabs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    217
    Member #
    31890
    Liked
    28 times
    you could have is so that you have one main layout (designed in html and css) and in the middle have some php that pulls the content in
    Hey you! Go make something!

  10. #9
    WDF Staff AlphaMare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,570
    Member #
    20277
    Liked
    878 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Noteleklabs, post: 238794
    you could have is so that you have one main layout (designed in html and css) and in the middle have some php that pulls the content in
    Already suggested - see my post from June 19 -
    Good design should never say "Look at me!"
    It should say "Look at this." ~ David Craib


    http://digitalinsite.ca ~ my current site . . info@digitalinsite.ca ~ my email

    If you feel that someone's post helped you fix your problem, answered your question, or just made you feel better, feel free to "Like" their post. The "Like" link is at the bottom right of each post, along side the "reply" link. And if you are being helped here, try to help someone else - pass it on!

  11. #10
    Senior Member Noteleklabs's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    217
    Member #
    31890
    Liked
    28 times
    Already suggested - see my post from June 19 -
    oh sorry, didn't see it
    Hey you! Go make something!


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:18 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com