Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    Hey guys,

I'm working on a page for a new site I'm planning on putting up and I had a question. This is my first time doing a layout with a style sheet and without using a table to layout my page. I am happy with the results I am getting even if I had to get over a few hurdles I would have avoided if I used a table (reading through the website reviews on these forums really inspired me to take the time to get out of my comfort zone and become a little better at web design). Now to get to the point, I used the W3C Mark up Validation Service to check my coding for errors and there is one that is coming up and I'm not sure if i should change it. What I'm using it for still works but should the error supersede the functionality?

my code is something like this:
    HTML Code:
    <a href="random.html">
    <div class="update">

<h3 class="title">title</h3>

<p class="text">Paragraph here</p>

</div>

</a>
    I know the problem is
    One possible cause for this message is that you have attempted to put a block-level element (such as "<p>" or "<table>") inside an inline element (such as "<a>", "<span>", or "<font>").
    because thats what the validation is telling me, but having the code that way still gives me my desired outcome (at least on firefox).

I was thinking of trying to put the anchor inside the DIV and around the header and paragraph, and then setting it as "display: block; width; 100%; height: 100%;" I'm not sure if that would work but I thought I would ask before messing with something that seems to be working even if it might not be proper.

What are your suggestions?

Member #
    Liked
    2783 times