Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

KR7
    Member #
    Hi everyone,

I will create a disclaimer up front. I am new here and this my first time posting. I am just starting to learn about HTML and CSS and in no way am I pro. I need some fast advice as I am on a time crunch so I haven't been able to search the forums yet to see if a question like this has been answered already. My apologies in advance.

Just for the sake of a little history, I am a photographer trying to design my first website because I have a very specific look in mind that I am trying to achieve. I have looked at, what feel likes hundreds, of pre-made templates available to photographers and I didn't like any of them ( I guess because I keep comparing it to what I envision my website should look like). I also didn't appreciate the high cost to download the template and I still have to go in and do some coding work to get the template to look the way I want. I have also looked into Joomla but again, I didn't care for the free templates I saw and many I found that were halfway decent I would have to pay for anyway. So, with my student discount I can get Dreamweaver for a good cost. I figured at least that way I can learn some coding and be able to change my website as much as I like but, more importantly, achieve the look I am going for without having to go through a web designer (which I can't afford). With all this in mind, I downloaded a free trial of Dreamweaver to see if I can figure out how to use it. And this is where my main question comes in.

Here is the example of a couple websites that I really like but I have no idea where to start on creating something similar to them. They are inspiration for me as this is really a great clean look for showing one's work without a whole lot of fluff.