Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    4
    Member #
    36147
    Hello.I will write here the whole code
    <html>
    <head>
    <title>New Site</title>

    <link href="styles.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" media="screen" />

    </head>

    <body>
    <div id="outer">
    <div id="wrapper">

    <div id="logo">
    <img src="images/images.jpeg" alt="jpg" />
    </div>

    <div id="navigation">
    <ul>
    <li>HOME</li>
    <li>ABOUT</li>
    <li>SOME STUFF</li>
    <li>CONTACT</li>
    </ul>
    </div>

    <div id="banner">
    <img src="images/banner1_2.jpg" alt="banner" />
    </div>

    <div id="content">
    <h1>Welcome</h1>
    <p>This site is my site</p>
    </div>

    <div id="right">
    <h2>News</h2>
    <h3>2013-04-30</h3>
    <p>New news</p>
    </div>

    <div id="footer">
    <p>2014</p>
    </div>

    </div>
    </div>
    </body>
    </html>

    And then in css i have
    body { background-color:#8080FF; }

    #outer { width:1000px; margin:0 auto; background-color:#FFF; }

    #wrapper { width:955px; margin:0 auto; background-color:#FFF; }

    #logo { margin:30px 0; }

    So,the problem is that margin 30px 0 in #logo don't affect logo,but affects wrapper/outer.Margin not appears at top and bottom of logo,but appears outside wrapper,so there's margin between very top of the page and wrapper.
    I know,there's few ways to fix it,like do float:left in #logo,but i want to know,why margin do not affect #logo?It shouldn't be like that.I do it by example.
    Please help.
    Thank you.

  2.  

  3. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
    Posts
    68
    Member #
    33961
    Liked
    5 times
    Can you post a link? Perhaps upload to a testing server so we can check the issue. It's always easier to have a look at the actual code online while viewing the site.

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    4
    Member #
    36147
    Well,i'm actually don't now how to do that,never tried to put my site on the internet,because i'm started to learning creating web pages not a long time ago.I'm working in Dreamweaver

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    4
    Member #
    36147
    If you could explain me how to do that,that would be nice

  6. #5
    Unpaid WDF Intern TheGAME1264's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Not from USA
    Posts
    14,483
    Member #
    425
    Liked
    2783 times
    You'll need a web host (oversimplified explanation: it's where you upload your site using the FTP program built into Dreamweaver). Since you're only just learning, you can probably upload it to a free host. I'm not sure if there are any good ones for your purposes as I have my own server, but I'd imagine you can Google that and find something. I'd do it myself, but I don't want to make a recommendation based on something I haven't used in the past 10 years.
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

    If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

    My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:59 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com