Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Webzarus

Thread: General Workflow for building a Website?

Member #

General Workflow for building a Website?

Hello,

I am new here but i have some basic knowledge of HTML, CSS and very good knowledge of linux. So, I want to start building a website for my own work. My question is: What is the general workflow to achieve this?

For example, first i have to have an idea of how i want it, then i will have to start coding in HTML and CSS. Right? After that i do not know exactly what i should do. I hear a lot about PHP and i understand the basic idea but i do not know where exactly it comes in the website building procedure. Also, i know about CMS. How do we connect those things all together in the website? is CMS affecting HTML coding or PHP? Finally, i am able to upload the code in my server??

I am little bit confused, so any suggestion is acceptable!

zabrielza

Member #
    Liked
    770 times
    HTML & CSS and a few other things can be used to create a web site.

php is a server side scritping language and like other server side languages it can be used to do many things that you cannot do with just html by itself, like pull data from a database, it can be used to create "included", for example... You build all the different but "common" sections of the site like header, footer, navigation ... Etc... Then as you're building the site, you just "include" these sections into the appropriate places within the page...

this helps with updating a site, as if you need to change the header of footer... All you need to do is update the 1 file, upload it to the server, any page that calls the include automatically shows the changes.