Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    89
    Member #
    37057

    Aligning (Horizontally) H3 Tag

    Hi, I can't get the <h3>Skill Level</h3> tag to horizontally align. I've moved that specific <h3> tag around four times in my mark up, when I think I solved one thing, another thing breaks, that other thing being, when the browser window is horizontally scaled it breaks the page. It is hard to describe, you simple have to hope you stumble across what I mean.

  2.  

  3. #2
    WDF Staff AlphaMare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,570
    Member #
    20277
    Liked
    878 times
    Post a link so we can see the code - maybe then we can help.
    Good design should never say "Look at me!"
    It should say "Look at this." ~ David Craib


    http://digitalinsite.ca ~ my current site . . info@digitalinsite.ca ~ my email

    If you feel that someone's post helped you fix your problem, answered your question, or just made you feel better, feel free to "Like" their post. The "Like" link is at the bottom right of each post, along side the "reply" link. And if you are being helped here, try to help someone else - pass it on!

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    89
    Member #
    37057
    The link is in the align word

  5. #4
    WDF Staff AlphaMare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,570
    Member #
    20277
    Liked
    878 times
    OK - I have looked at the page - it's hard to see what you are asking about - what exactly are you trying to do?
    Good design should never say "Look at me!"
    It should say "Look at this." ~ David Craib


    http://digitalinsite.ca ~ my current site . . info@digitalinsite.ca ~ my email

    If you feel that someone's post helped you fix your problem, answered your question, or just made you feel better, feel free to "Like" their post. The "Like" link is at the bottom right of each post, along side the "reply" link. And if you are being helped here, try to help someone else - pass it on!

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    89
    Member #
    37057
    I want to make the words "skill level" all horizontal instead of on two lines, then position it more to the right.

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    89
    Member #
    37057
    The word "skill level" is has the word "skill" on-top of the word "level" I want to make it as one line instead of two !

  8. #7
    WDF Staff AlphaMare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,570
    Member #
    20277
    Liked
    878 times
    Why are you using absolute positioning for your h3 and h4? That means that wherever in the site you use those tags they will be positioned that way. If you want to position them, I suggest adding a class with the positioning you want, and also using relative positioning.
    Good design should never say "Look at me!"
    It should say "Look at this." ~ David Craib


    http://digitalinsite.ca ~ my current site . . info@digitalinsite.ca ~ my email

    If you feel that someone's post helped you fix your problem, answered your question, or just made you feel better, feel free to "Like" their post. The "Like" link is at the bottom right of each post, along side the "reply" link. And if you are being helped here, try to help someone else - pass it on!

  9. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    89
    Member #
    37057
    Alphamare - If I understood correctly you suggest I place the H1 and H2 tags all within a class or each one within a class ?

  10. #9
    WDF Staff AlphaMare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,570
    Member #
    20277
    Liked
    878 times
    In your HTML, assign a class to the tags (e.g. <h3 class="lineup"> some text here </h3>
    In your CSS, style that class so that it makes it do what you want it to
    You can go HERE and play around with it until you understand how it works.
    I have been following your posts, and from the questions you are asking it seems like you are a beginner at this, but I think you'd do well to go online and look at some tutorials, at least get an idea of HTML and CSS.
    Learn why it is a good idea to keep your CSS in a separate file, learn the difference between id's and classes, learn how to correctly use the <h> tags on a page, basic stuff like that.
    Good design should never say "Look at me!"
    It should say "Look at this." ~ David Craib


    http://digitalinsite.ca ~ my current site . . info@digitalinsite.ca ~ my email

    If you feel that someone's post helped you fix your problem, answered your question, or just made you feel better, feel free to "Like" their post. The "Like" link is at the bottom right of each post, along side the "reply" link. And if you are being helped here, try to help someone else - pass it on!

  11. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    89
    Member #
    37057
    I could have placed the H1,H3 tags in a class, decided to ask to get correct semantic.
    Last edited by Shang Tsung; Feb 03rd, 2014 at 07:06 PM.


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:11 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com