Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 24 of 24
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: How do I correctly make my nav bar scrol down with my page???

  1. #21
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Posts
    15
    Member #
    38570
    Quote Originally Posted by TheGAME1264 View Post
    [EDIT: top paragraph removed because vpatteson got it. Left the rest because it's relevant. TheGAME1264]

    Tell your coworker he needs a new computer by April 8. The problem is that he's running a copy of Windows XP on that machine and what appears to be IE7. A newer machine would give him a newer version of IE which would in turn solve your problem.

    The problem the coworker has? Windows XP support cycle ends as of April 8. That means that your coworker's computer is going to be a sitting duck for viruses, malware, hacks and all the rest of that and Microsoft won't do a thing to fix it (since they've been doing that for 13 years and have told everyone this day is coming).

    Windows lifecycle fact sheet - Microsoft Windows Help

    Your company can't be cheap here. If it is, you need to find a new job because chances are you're going to suffer.
    We have told them this but nothing has changed, now i am curently having a problem with the display: inline-block because his browser doesnt support it.

  2.  

  3. #22
    Unpaid WDF Intern TheGAME1264's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Not from USA
    Posts
    12,119
    Member #
    425
    Liked
    1902 times
    Like I said, upgrade. I'm not saying it to be trite, either...this is a major issue your company is going to have. Either they upgrade or they pay the price later on when something happens, because chances are whoever's using that tower isn't too tech savvy.

    You're right, though...IE7 doesn't support inline-block. As a workaround, you could install Chrome on that machine and have a shortcut to that page open up in Chrome from the desktop. It's not a perfect solution, but it's about all I can come up with.
    I'm an expert in off-page SEO, social media optimization, and repeating everything everyone else says about these topics so that I sound like I know what I'm talking about.

    My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)

    If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link. Some of us are really insecure and need those likes so that we feel important and smart, so come on, help us out, huh?

  4. #23
    Senior Member Ronald Roe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    2,161
    Member #
    27197
    Liked
    546 times
    Quote Originally Posted by TheGAME1264 View Post
    As a workaround, you could install Chrome on that machine and have a shortcut to that page open up in Chrome from the desktop. It's not a perfect solution, but it's about all I can come up with.
    Or be sneaky and install Chrome frame...
    Roe Designs
    Web designer / Developer
    "If every app were designed using the same design template, oh wait...Bootstrap."

  5. #24
    Junior Member DarrenStreet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Oxford
    Posts
    6
    Member #
    38622
    The z-index property handles the stacking order on HTML dom objects

    PS.10 floating menu tuts

    10 jQuery Floating Menu and Message Plugins | jQuery4u


Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:38 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com