Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Stockbridge, GA (outside of Atlanta)
    Posts
    36
    Member #
    3035
    I though I was starting to get the hang of this, but Mozilla is not reading external style sheet. It works fine in IE.

    This is what i have:
    <link rel="stylesheet" href="style2.css" type="text/css">

    I tried to import, didn't make a difference.

    Here is my stylesheet:

    BODY {
    margin: 1px;
    background-image: url('background2.jpg');
    background-repeat:no-repeat;



    #titlepic {
    position:absolute;
    top: 25px;
    left: 10px;
    z-index: 1
    }

    #sidebar {
    position:absolute;
    top:15px;
    left:1px;
    width:40%;
    height:100%;
    background-color:#cccc99;
    z-index:-3;

    }

    #titlebar {
    position:absolute;
    left:200px;
    width:70%;
    top: 15px;
    z-index: -1;
    height: 50px;
    border-top: 10px solid #996600;
    border-bottom:1px none black;
    border-right: 1px none black;
    border-left: 1px none black;
    height: 49px;
    font-family: Arial;
    font-size:24pt;
    font-weight: bold;
    color: black;
    background-color: #cccc99;
    text-align:center;

    }

    #maincontent {
    position:absolute;
    left:200px;
    width:70%;
    border-top: 10px none #996600;
    border-bottom:1px none black;
    border-right: 1px none black;
    border-left: 1px none black;
    font-family: arial;
    font-color: black;
    font-size: 12pt;
    background-color:#FFFFCC

    }

    #bottomcontent {
    position:absolute;
    left:200px;
    top:475px;
    width:70%;
    border-top: 10px none #996600;
    border-bottom:1px none black;
    border-right: 1px none black;
    border-left: 1px none black;
    background-color:#FFFFCC;
    }

    #picture1 {
    top:155;

    position:absolute;
    right:30px;


    #picture2

    }

    .menulink {


    position:relative;

    left: 0px;
    top: 50px;
    display: block;
    width: 140px;
    text-align: left;
    text-decoration: none;
    font-family:arial;
    font-size:16px;
    font-weight: bold;
    color: Black;
    BORDER: none;
    border: solid 1px black;
    background-color: #FFFFCC;

    }

    .menulink:hover {
    border: solid 1px #FFFFCC;
    background-color:#ff9900;
    }


    h1 {
    font-family:Arial;
    font-size: 18pt;
    font-weight:bold;
    }


    #bottomcontent h1 {
    font-colorink;
    }



    Any help would be greatly appreciated

  2.  

  3. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Stockbridge, GA (outside of Atlanta)
    Posts
    36
    Member #
    3035
    oh website in profile

  4. #3
    Senior Member Brak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    3,413
    Member #
    1217
    Liked
    2 times
    Your first BODY{ declaration has no } that's why it's not working.
    Kyle Neath: Rockstar extraordinare
    The blog | The poetry site | The Spore site

  5. #4
    Senior Member nsr81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,132
    Member #
    250
    Liked
    15 times
    from what you posted, seems like you are missing a curly brace after the "BODY" part.

    BODY {
    margin: 1px;
    background-image: url('background2.jpg');
    background-repeat:no-repeat;
    }
    There and Back Again :Ogre:

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Stockbridge, GA (outside of Atlanta)
    Posts
    36
    Member #
    3035
    Thanks, I can't believe I didn't see that. I will not tell how much time I spent looking for this. I feel soo stupid. I really appreciate it. It is reading now but the site is all jumbled in Mozilla. Hey at least It is reading the external sheet now.


    JR

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Stockbridge, GA (outside of Atlanta)
    Posts
    36
    Member #
    3035
    opps It's all jumbled in IE too. O well back to work.

  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Stockbridge, GA (outside of Atlanta)
    Posts
    36
    Member #
    3035
    Well it seems that all the positioning was off due to the missing bracket. I just had to redo the positioning. Now there is a small diff. between IE and Mozilla.


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:20 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com