Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #

Is this HTML or some other animal altogether? PLEASE HELP!

Hi everyone,

I am a total newb and this is my first post ever so please excuse me if i inadvertently breach any protocols. I was searching online today for ideas that i could use for my own bio/vital-stats page on my own website. I came upon a website that had screenshots of some bio pages and one sparked my interest because of its hi-tech look. I am really going for a Star-Trek looking vitals profile page for myself and this page is the closest i have come to what i am looking for. The problem is that its only a screenshot and the site doesn't exist anymore so i can't inspect its elements. Here is a link to an image of the site and i have also pasted the image into the message below with my questions. Specifically i am perplexed as to how the web designer created those lines that seem to be part of the image border to the right. Is that just slight of hand and really just some type of "line code" that extends to a border surrounding the image to the right? If not, how do you layer HTML on top of or between image elements? If it is indeed code could you let me know the code?

My second question pertains to the grid which is hard to make out in my upload of the website. The web designer created a grid with fine fluorescent green grid lines and a black background with those cool little plus symbols as bullets. I know this is the stupidest question to ever come across this forum but how did he do that and how do you install little images like that as bullet points?