Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree6Likes

Thread: Background color not working with CSS

Member #

Background color not working with CSS

I've set up a master.css file including the following:

body {
    *** margin: auto;
    *** padding: 0px;
    *** background-color: #424242;
    }

This works fine in my HTML editor (PageBreeze) along with all the other fonts etc specified in the .css file, but when I upload the files to the Internet they default to a white background. The only way I can overcome this is to specify the background colour (dark grey) in the body of each individual file. All the other fonts etc work fine as specified in the .css file.

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong? Please use minimal jargon in any replies as I'm only a beginner.

Thanks, Paul

Member #
    Liked
    544 times
    To answer you we would need to see more code. Best bet is to include your site url so we can see it first hand. Other than that all i can assume is that the file location has changed from your machine to your host and your css isnt linking to your html.

Regretfully sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk during lunch and other breaks

Member #
    Liked
    2783 times
    Take the stars out if your editor put them there. If not, Vapr_Arts is right.
    aspectsofwales likes this.
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)

Member #
    Liked
    3 times