Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    3
    Member #
    49592

    Need help fixing clicked images for my folio site.

    Hey everyone. I'm new here and was hoping I could get some help with my port folio site:

    Hayden Zammit - Portfolio

    Now, I don't know much about making websites, but I managed to get this far using Dreamweaver CS6. It's set up pretty much exactly how I want it I use a template for the banner and nav bar at the top, then all my content is in a DIV box below. The only thing I hate is when I click you click on one of those images(only one working is the second from the top) and then click go back a page to return to the index, the image that was clicked then has a dotted border around it. Then, if you hover over that image that has the border, it will it will change colors. I want to get rid of that completely, and have no idea how.

    I'm assuming it has something to do with the hover and visited link settings that I defined for the links in the navigation bar up top. I want to keep them the way they are, but strip all of that hover and visited link visuals from the images if possible.

    So yeah, any help would be appreciated, and please keep in mind, I really don't know anything advanced with web design.


    thanks!

    - hayden

  2.  

  3. #2
    Junior Member webbtransformer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    Luleň, Sweden
    Posts
    4
    Member #
    49593

    Remove Border from Image

    Hayen, if you set the border to 0 on your image that may remove the dotted line....

    The code would look like:

    <img src="yourimage.jpg" border="0" />

  4. #3
    Senior Member Vapr_Arts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,930
    Member #
    37412
    Liked
    544 times

    Need help fixing clicked images for my folio site.

    Try using nesting.

    For example i will make the css properties for my nav have specific rules that wont be applied anywhere else. By using nesting (i hope that im using the correct wording) i can customize anchor tags in my nav that wont be applied to any other anchor tags by writing the css like this:

    Nav a{
    Background-color: #000000;
    }

    This makes the background color black on any anchor tags within my nav tag.

    Edit:
    I went online n to make sure i was using the right wording. To read more about what i was talking about check out this link.

    http://www.w3schools.com/css/css_combinators.asp

    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    3
    Member #
    49592
    Quote Originally Posted by Vapr_Arts View Post
    Try using nesting.

    For example i will make the css properties for my nav have specific rules that wont be applied anywhere else. By using nesting (i hope that im using the correct wording) i can customize anchor tags in my nav that wont be applied to any other anchor tags by writing the css like this:

    Nav a{
    Background-color: #000000;
    }

    This makes the background color black on any anchor tags within my nav tag.

    Edit:
    I went online n to make sure i was using the right wording. To read more about what i was talking about check out this link.

    CSS Combinators

    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

    hmmm. Couldn't get either of these suggestions to work guys. I think it's got something to do with my template. All the a hover and variants are defined in there I think, and they're greyed out their. I can't seem to make new ones.

  6. #5
    Senior Member Vapr_Arts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1,930
    Member #
    37412
    Liked
    544 times
    Im on my phone now so u cant look at the code but ill have a look later today to see if i can find the problem


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    82
    Member #
    24186
    Liked
    8 times
    That's the browsers default focus behavior. Now you can remove or alter it with:
    Code:
    Img:focus{
    outline: 0;
    }
    But... BUT.. I can give you reasons why you might not want to...

    CSS outline property - outline: none and outline: 0

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    3
    Member #
    49592
    Quote Originally Posted by Brian Angel View Post
    That's the browsers default focus behavior. Now you can remove or alter it with:
    Code:
    Img:focus{
    outline: 0;
    }
    But... BUT.. I can give you reasons why you might not want to...

    CSS outline property - outline: none and outline: 0
    Hey, Brian, thanks for the help. Where do I put this code in exactly? Into the CSS that I have applied to the thumbnails?

    I read that link. I'm okay with getting rid of it. This is my game art folio, so 99% of the people who look at it will be other game artists/employers.

  9. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Philadelphia
    Posts
    82
    Member #
    24186
    Liked
    8 times
    In your css it would be:

    Code:
    .imageshold a {
       outline : 0;
    }


    And you might think your okay removing it nut check the legality of accessibility for your area, just saying/


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:57 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com