Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    1
    Member #
    3336
    Hi,
    If anybody can help me figure out why anything but aol can display the image on my website(graphic at the top).
    http://www.privacyatschool.com
    AOL 9.0 will not display my images?!?!?!
    thanks in advance
    Josh Ashcraft
    jjashcraft@schear.net

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member seanmiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Glastonbury, UK
    Posts
    868
    Member #
    3263
    Liked
    1 times
    I do not see the image on your site... I am guessing that you other browsers are fetching it from a cache or something.

    The image URL is http://www.freewebs.com/joesenter/pr...s/image001.jpg

    Which does not exist.

    Sean

  4. #3
    Senior Member Brak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    3,413
    Member #
    1217
    Liked
    2 times
    In order to "speed up the web" AOL does not neccesarily let your browser visit the pages you type in... the first time someone visists the site, it gets loaded into a cache, from which many AOL users can download the page, but from AOL instead (for the most part). If you check your weblogs, you'll notice for their address you get something like: proxy5.aol.com instead of trinity.reshall.calpoly.edu etc.. This causes chaos and havok around the web, not to mention AOL's inability to load half the things on the internet... Basically the answer: AOL's browser is completely unreliable and cannot be accounted for.
    Kyle Neath: Rockstar extraordinare
    The blog | The poetry site | The Spore site

  5. #4
    Senior Member seanmiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Glastonbury, UK
    Posts
    868
    Member #
    3263
    Liked
    1 times
    You seem to have conditional logic in your site... beyond me, but it seems to be choosing whether to use faces.jpg (which appears in IE) or this non-existant file as above depending on browser settings.

    What is this trying to achieve?

    <!--[if gte vml 1]><v:shapetype id="_x0000_t75"
    coordsize="21600,21600" o:spt="75" oreferrelative="t" path="m@4@5l@4@11@9@11@9@5xe"
    filled="f" stroked="f">
    <v:stroke joinstyle="miter"/>
    <v:formulas>
    <v:f eqn="if lineDrawn pixelLineWidth 0"/>
    <v:f eqn="sum @0 1 0"/>
    <v:f eqn="sum 0 0 @1"/>
    <v:f eqn="prod @2 1 2"/>
    <v:f eqn="prod @3 21600 pixelWidth"/>
    <v:f eqn="prod @3 21600 pixelHeight"/>
    <v:f eqn="sum @0 0 1"/>
    <v:f eqn="prod @6 1 2"/>
    <v:f eqn="prod @7 21600 pixelWidth"/>
    <v:f eqn="sum @8 21600 0"/>
    <v:f eqn="prod @7 21600 pixelHeight"/>
    <v:f eqn="sum @10 21600 0"/>
    </v:formulas>
    <vath o:extrusionok="f" gradientshapeok="t" o:connecttype="rect"/>
    <o:lock v:ext="edit" aspectratio="t"/>
    </v:shapetype><v:shape id="_x0000_i1025" type="#_x0000_t75" style='width:6in;
    height:126pt'>
    <v:imagedata src="./images/faces.jpg" o:title="faces"/>
    </v:shape><![endif]--><![if !vml]><img width=576 height=168
    src="./privacyatschool_files/image001.jpg" v:shapes="_x0000_i1025"><![endif]>
    Sean

  6. #5
    Senior Member Brak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    3,413
    Member #
    1217
    Liked
    2 times
    You've got a lot of strnage XML going on.. I'd blame it on some bad XML most ikely... just make the site XHTML or HTML, no need for XML in this case, unless you want the content in an XML file, and then I'd use another language to parse it (PHP, ASP, XSL, etc)
    Kyle Neath: Rockstar extraordinare
    The blog | The poetry site | The Spore site

  7. #6
    Senior Member seanmiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Glastonbury, UK
    Posts
    868
    Member #
    3263
    Liked
    1 times
    I just took out all your XML and the only difference it appears to make to the site (apart from fixing the missing picture) is that you can now right click on the picture using IE....

    See http://www.seanmiller.net/pas2

    Sean


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

aol browser not showing images

,

aol not showing top of website

Click on a term to search for related topics.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:37 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com