Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Box that contains picture and titles

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    7
    Member #
    55540

    Box that contains picture and titles

    Hey every Irantwomiles here, this is my first post so I'm sorry if some things or not the way that they are suppose to be, but my question is this. How do I create a box so that I can have a picture in it with a title above the picture. To be exact I'm trying to recreate something like this https://www.hydrapvp.com/staff . I know a lot of forums don't like to just give out code, so even a link in the right direction would mean a lot, thanks!

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member Ronald Roe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    3,141
    Member #
    27197
    Liked
    959 times
    Copied straight from the HTML on the site:
    HTML Code:
    <div class="col-md-3">
    <a href="./user?u=Doxify" class="staff-panel">
    <div class="staff-avatar"><img src="https://visage.surgeplay.com/full/192/d3bc99bc14ab41368d5980027e07ca62" alt="Doxify's Avatar" class=""></div>
    <div class="staff-body">
    <h4>Doxify</h4>
    </div>
    </a>
    </div>
    Then, you just add CSS styles to give it width, a gray background and to make sure the title sits in the right position.

    What is your code skill level? Do you know CSS?
    Irantwomiles likes this.
    Ron Roe
    Web Developer
    "If every app were designed using the same design template, oh wait...Bootstrap."

  4. #3
    Unpaid WDF Intern TheGAME1264's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Not from USA
    Posts
    14,485
    Member #
    425
    Liked
    2783 times
    It looks like a customized version of Xenforo forums with some additional non-forum pages put onto it.

    https://xenforo.com/community/

    They also use FontAwesome for some of the CSS.
    Irantwomiles likes this.
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

    If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

    My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    7
    Member #
    55540
    Hey, thanks for the reply. Yea, I took a look at that but I want it so each "box" has its own thing so if you click on it, it will take you to a different page. And my skill is quite basic. I know basic html and css, I'm more of a Java dev tbh. new territory for me.

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    7
    Member #
    55540
    Thanks for the reply. At the moment I'm not too worried about their forums. I know xenforo has a lot to offer, but I'm just not to that point of development yet.

  7. #6
    Unpaid WDF Intern TheGAME1264's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Not from USA
    Posts
    14,485
    Member #
    425
    Liked
    2783 times
    I'm confused. Are you talking about a hyperlink in general? Something like <a href="some-page">(the image/div code)</a> ? Or are you talking about something more specific?
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

    If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

    My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)

  8. #7
    Senior Member Ronald Roe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    3,141
    Member #
    27197
    Liked
    959 times
    To change where it links to, you'l need to edit the href= part in the second line. You'll put the address there between quote marks.
    Ron Roe
    Web Developer
    "If every app were designed using the same design template, oh wait...Bootstrap."

  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    7
    Member #
    55540
    Ok thanks. I actually figured it out and its looking nice. I have a new question. Right now everything is hardcoded and I'm simply not the type of guy to just leave it like that, I eventually need this to be automated since its going to be connected to a MySQL database. I know that I'll have to do that with PhP and this is not the right place, but I don't know how to make it so I have a list of images with gaps between them.

  10. #9
    Unpaid WDF Intern TheGAME1264's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Not from USA
    Posts
    14,485
    Member #
    425
    Liked
    2783 times
    This is the general idea on how you'll retrieve data from a database and display it on a web page.

    Lesson 20: Retrieve data from a databaseentutorial - HTML.net

    How exactly you do it for your specific case will depend on how you structure your data, what fields you use, how you want things to display, etc.
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

    If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

    My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)

  11. #10
    Senior Member Ronald Roe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma City
    Posts
    3,141
    Member #
    27197
    Liked
    959 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Irantwomiles View Post
    Ok thanks. I actually figured it out and its looking nice. I have a new question. Right now everything is hardcoded and I'm simply not the type of guy to just leave it like that, I eventually need this to be automated since its going to be connected to a MySQL database. I know that I'll have to do that with PhP and this is not the right place, but I don't know how to make it so I have a list of images with gaps between them.
    Of course this is the right place. WDF has more developers than designers, so you'll get the help you need.

    The nutshell version of what you're going to do:
    Store the image's location, text content and any other information you want in the database (the part GAME mentions)
    Use PHP to retrieve the information and store it in an array
    Use PHP to loop through the array, outputting each iteration as HTML
    TheGAME1264 likes this.
    Ron Roe
    Web Developer
    "If every app were designed using the same design template, oh wait...Bootstrap."


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Tags for this Thread

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:49 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com