Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 10 of 10
Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By Matt @ BSH
  • 1 Post By Matt @ BSH
  • 1 Post By Matt @ BSH
  • 1 Post By Matt @ BSH

Thread: Need to be advised for edit to working code

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    South west uk
    Posts
    81
    Member #
    53465
    Liked
    3 times

    Need to be advised for edit to working code

    Hi,
    This is the site in question The Attic Banwell

    The code below works fine but need assistance if i may ask for an edit / extra piece of code.
    Custer clicks on the thumbnail which then loads the full size image.
    The additional code would allow another full size image to be shown.

    I would still just use the one thumbnail BUT open to suggestions for how the two images are viewed etc.
    Either say x amount of seconds the second is shown then after x amount of seconds back to the first.
    I currently have next/previous arrows shown of the page so i dont think this is an option.


    Code:
    		<article>
    		<a class="thumbnail" href="images/fulls/CHEST-OF-DRAWERS.jpg" data-position="top center"><img src="images/thumbs/CHEST-OF-DRAWERS.jpg" alt="CHEST OF DRAWERS W-S-M" /></a>
    		<h2>CHEST OF DRAWERS 150</h2>
    		<p>H 112cm W 115cm D 50cm</p>
    		</article>
    Many thanks.

  2.  

  3. #2
    Member Matt @ BSH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Liverpool, UK
    Posts
    60
    Member #
    58134
    Liked
    5 times
    Hi there,

    Correct me if I'm wrong but it seems as though you're describing a sliding banner within a lightbox? Something like this but the opposite way? Click the image, then a slider will show?
    ipbr21054 likes this.

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    South west uk
    Posts
    81
    Member #
    53465
    Liked
    3 times
    Evening,
    Sorry im new to this and picking it up as i go,i also have learning difficulties.

    Basically my site loads the main photo after clicking on the thumbnail.
    Sometimes after the main photo is loaded i might need to see an alternative for the same item.
    Trying to make it easy for people so no clicking involved etc so hence after say 2 seconds automatically show the second image like a loop ?.

    I am open to any help / suggestions.

    Thanks.

  5. #4
    Member Matt @ BSH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Liverpool, UK
    Posts
    60
    Member #
    58134
    Liked
    5 times
    Quote Originally Posted by ipbr21054 View Post
    Evening,
    Sorry im new to this and picking it up as i go,i also have learning difficulties.

    Basically my site loads the main photo after clicking on the thumbnail.
    Sometimes after the main photo is loaded i might need to see an alternative for the same item.
    Trying to make it easy for people so no clicking involved etc so hence after say 2 seconds automatically show the second image like a loop ?.

    I am open to any help / suggestions.

    Thanks.
    That's not a problem.

    Okay, so basically I think you're describing a thunbnail slider with multiple images per product thumbnail that's clicked on the right? It can be done, but has some complicated jQuery to it from the way I'm looking at it. Are your products static or being pulled from a database? This is essentially a slider within a slider.
    ipbr21054 likes this.

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    South west uk
    Posts
    81
    Member #
    53465
    Liked
    3 times
    Kind of.
    One thumbnail image.
    Click this thumbnail.
    Main photo is not shown.
    Now another image to be shown also if required.
    Not sure about extra clicking ??
    Maybe let the image stay on the screen for say 3 seconds then allow it to rotate on its axis into the second image.

    Does this sound correct ?

  7. #6
    Member Matt @ BSH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Liverpool, UK
    Posts
    60
    Member #
    58134
    Liked
    5 times
    Quote Originally Posted by ipbr21054 View Post
    Kind of.
    One thumbnail image.
    Click this thumbnail.
    Main photo is not shown.
    Now another image to be shown also if required.
    Not sure about extra clicking ??
    Maybe let the image stay on the screen for say 3 seconds then allow it to rotate on its axis into the second image.

    Does this sound correct ?
    Try and incorporate this simple CSS slider with the <div class="slide active"></div> div and this should give you the effect you're after... I hope!

    https://codepen.io/dudleystorey/pen/ehKpi
    ipbr21054 likes this.

  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    South west uk
    Posts
    81
    Member #
    53465
    Liked
    3 times
    Ok,
    I will try but simple isnt in my vocabulary...

    The code below is in place for each image at present.
    The HTML you show in code pen,do i need to insert that to each of the codes supplied or just at the start etc ?


    Code:
            <article>
    		<a class="thumbnail" href="images/fulls/REQUIRE-A-PIECE.jpg"><img src="images/thumbs/REQUEST-A-PIECE.jpg" alt="The Attic Banwell Shabby Chic Items" />
    		<figcaption>Item's Sourced</figcaption></a>
    		<h2>REQUEST A PIECE</h2>
    		<p>We will look for you</p>
    		</article>

  9. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    South west uk
    Posts
    81
    Member #
    53465
    Liked
    3 times
    Sorry,
    But i am unable to incorporate it into my existing code.
    https://codepen.io/dudleystorey/pen/ehKpi

    Css is straight for but HTML is my issue

  10. #9
    Member Matt @ BSH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Liverpool, UK
    Posts
    60
    Member #
    58134
    Liked
    5 times
    Quote Originally Posted by ipbr21054 View Post
    Sorry,
    But i am unable to incorporate it into my existing code.
    https://codepen.io/dudleystorey/pen/ehKpi

    Css is straight for but HTML is my issue
    Could you try and find an example of what exactly it is you're trying to achieve and I'll try creating it for you?
    ipbr21054 likes this.

  11. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    South west uk
    Posts
    81
    Member #
    53465
    Liked
    3 times
    Thanks,

    My problem is applying the code to existing code.
    I make a mistake then spend ages looking for it.
    Sometimes with my condition i need to leave for some time before i can tackle it agin.

    As an example something like below or even what you advise but adding to my existing code is my main problem.

    Dynamic Drive DHTML Scripts- Book Flip Slideshow

    Dynamic Drive DHTML Scripts- Drop-in Slideshow Script

    I am happy to use the code pen that you supplied.
    Can i share my site file with you somehow ??


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:19 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com