Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Liked
    1 times

Server/hosting HTML version

Seems like a simple questions but been searching for longtime and cannot find a simple answer. How to tell if hosting is configured to use HTML 5 or what is the highest version it can handle. Far as I understand it is backward compatible. Also I think if you look at source code of a website <HTML doc> means it can handle version 5 correct?

I am a newbie and just always figured servers will be able to handle all HTML tags at least up to version 2. I see a sever has to be configured to handle versions of HTML like PHP. Any simple explanation for this or an article TY...or just donít worry about it

Member #
    Liked
    1 times
    Quote Originally Posted by vinnymickey View Post
    Seems like a simple questions but been searching for longtime and cannot find a simple answer. How to tell if hosting is configured to use HTML 5 or what is the highest version it can handle. Far as I understand it is backward compatible. Also I think if you look at source code of a website <HTML doc> means it can handle version 5 correct?

I am a newbie and just always figured servers will be able to handle all HTML tags at least up to version 2. I see a sever has to be configured to handle versions of HTML like PHP. Any simple explanation for this or an article TY...or just donít worry about it
    HTML4 source code will look something like this:

Code:
    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
    <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
    <head>
    While HTML5 source code will look something like this:

Code:
    <!DOCTYPE html>
    <html lang="en-US" prefix="og: http://ogp.me/ns#">