Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member bahnstormer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    New Jersey USA
    Posts
    80
    Member #
    3575
    http://www.eden.rutgers.edu/~szwarc/blitz/

    any ideas why the layers aren't going where they're
    absolutely positioned to go?

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member DanielOliver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Cornwall, England.
    Posts
    1,202
    Member #
    1879
    Ah I have had this problem before. how are you coding this? are you using a WYSIWYG editor or are you hand coding?

  4. #3
    Member bahnstormer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    New Jersey USA
    Posts
    80
    Member #
    3575
    well its dreamweaver 04 but the code
    is all basic stuff, doesnt' matter
    the fact is ie6 is being retarded

  5. #4
    Senior Member DanielOliver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Cornwall, England.
    Posts
    1,202
    Member #
    1879
    before i got into hand coding, on dreamweaver I just dragged the layers further apart, and then previewed them, then dragged further untill i got the right look I wanted through the browser, although this means it will looks odd in the editor.

    Im sure there is someone on the board with code related answer, but this is how I overcame those problems.
    Just mess around with the postioning of it all, change the values, see what happens? change again, or do what I said above.

    Should work, But i try to stay away from layers as much as possible myself.

  6. #5
    Senior Member Riat_Sila's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    417
    Member #
    3485
    You've left out some 'px's on the end of your positioning. Also you keep linking to classes and Id's that aren't anywhere in your code...

  7. #6
    Senior Member Delerium's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    193
    Member #
    462
    Originally posted by bahnstormer
    the fact is ie6 is being retarded
    The fact is that your positional values don't have px after them - Mozilla/Firebird/Netscape show the page incorrectly, just like IE6.

  8. #7
    Member bahnstormer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    New Jersey USA
    Posts
    80
    Member #
    3575
    lol so the px's caused all that trouble?

    i link to a stlye sheet in the head, i have one big style sheet for the site, thanks guys!


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:40 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com