Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Junior Member epica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    7
    Member #
    3967
    I ran a webpage that looks OK on most of the browsers but the client sees displacement with IE 5.1 on Mac.

    I tried to fix it but have no idea what may cause it.

    you can check the site @ http://sh.t.aeye.net and the screenshots @ https://office.prototypestudio.net/s...screenshot.jpg

    any comments and suggestions are welcome
    thank you

  2.  

  3. #2
    WDF Staff Wired's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    7,657
    Member #
    1234
    Liked
    138 times
    What kind of displacement exactly do they see?
    The Rules
    Was another WDF member's post helpful? Click the like button below the post.

    Admin at houseofhelp.com

  4. #3
    Junior Member epica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    7
    Member #
    3967
    sorry,

    HTTPS is down, so the screenshot is available here: http://office.prototypestudio.net:62...screenshot.jpg

    if you check this url, you'll see the displacement,

    cheers

  5. #4
    Member Tinah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Croatia/England
    Posts
    72
    Member #
    3656
    well i am on a mac and im using explorer 5.1 ... and im not quite sure what this screenshot is, its giant and confusing.... :/

    it would be useful if you showed a screenshot of what its like in Explorer 6? Or some other browser that displays the correct version?

    i viewed the site however, and this is how it looks to me:

    http://www.yun0.net/stuff/sh-screenshot.gif

    seems okay! Im not sure whats displaced.

  6. #5
    Member Tinah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Croatia/England
    Posts
    72
    Member #
    3656
    aahhh ok ok i got someone to make me an explorer 6 screenshot.

    so is this what it should be like? : http://www.yun0.net/stuff/exp6.jpg


    if thats all thats wrong, then all you have is the problem with the scrollbar colours on mac. You cant change scrollbar colours on a mac unfortunately.
    I HATE that.
    You'll have to make peace with having just an ugly grey one there.

    And as for the horizontal scrollbar, you should be able to get rid of it by setting the table width of the content inside the iframe to something smaller than 100%. Make it 95%. Or 30-50 pixels less than the iframe width.
    I use iframes on my page and I dont get horizontal scrollbars.

  7. #6
    Member Tinah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Croatia/England
    Posts
    72
    Member #
    3656
    oh oh and also - for that framing line that appears around the iframe, just insert some border definitions into your iframe code, like these:

    Code:
    <iframe src="whatever" frameborder="NO" border="0">
    and it should be gone.

  8. #7
    Junior Member epica's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    7
    Member #
    3967
    thanks for the detailed examination of the problem,
    I'll work on your suggestions and will let you know about the result.

    once again, thanks

  9. #8
    Member Tinah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Croatia/England
    Posts
    72
    Member #
    3656
    youre welcome! I hope it works for you!

    If you have any more mac-like questions, PM me or ask here!


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:25 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com