Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    13
    Member #
    4436
    I have a few pages on my site that don't display correctly until you refresh them. The image in the header shows up, but none of the text-based navigation menus displays. All or most of the content text is missing, along with, sometimes, any images in the content <div>. If you get lucky enough to find a link with your mouse, the line the link is on will appear, but the rest of the page will remain the same. As soon as you refresh, however, the page displayes as it should. I've gone through the code and checked for anything that might be there that shouldn't, but I can find anything. All the pages on the site use the same CSS pages, and most of those pages display correctly. Like I said, it's only 3 or 4 pages that are having this problem. Any ideas?

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member mossoi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Englandshire, United Kingdomsville y'all!
    Posts
    1,111
    Member #
    1206
    Liked
    1 times
    Can we have a URL to take a look?

    Clearing the browsers cache sometimes clears this problem up.

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    13
    Member #
    4436
    I have problems on the following pages:

    http://www.safesoundsec.com/new_test/html/galleries/
    http://www.safesoundsec.com/new_test...llery.asp?id=2, with any gallery ID
    http://www.safesoundsec.com/new_test/html/aboutus.asp
    http://www.safesoundsec.com/new_test...s/security.asp
    http://www.safesoundsec.com/new_test...omecontrol.asp
    http://www.safesoundsec.com/new_test...structured.asp
    http://www.safesoundsec.com/new_test...s/networks.asp

    I cleared the cache, and it didn't help any. I've tried those pages on multiple machines with different resolutions, and still have the same problem. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    13
    Member #
    4436
    Oh, of course. It works fine when you follow one of the links I posted. Perhaps if you try just going to http://www.safesoundsec.com/new_test/html/ and clickinng on about us, photo gallery, and some of the various services.

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    94
    Member #
    4729
    could be something like this
    http://www.bluerobot.com/web/css/fouc.asp

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    13
    Member #
    4436
    That's not doing anything. Also, if it makes a difference, it's not "flash" of unstyled content. In fact the layout is, for all intents and purposes, the way it should be. It's just that the content isn't appearing until the page is refreshed, or you in one way or another put IE in the background, whether it be by minimizing it or switching to another program.

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    13
    Member #
    4436
    Hmm. Think it might be an IE bug...again. When viewed in Mozilla, everything displays exactly as it should (with the exception of a few minor problems w/ underlining image links).

  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    13
    Member #
    4436
    I've figured out what the problem is. If the content in the 'sidebar' <dov> is longer than the content in the 'content' <div>, then the page doesn't display correctly (as described in previous posts). If the content in the 'content' <div> is longer than that of the 'sidebar' <div>, then there's no problem. So, the question is, how can I force a minimum height of the 'content' <div>?

  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    13
    Member #
    4436
    Finally, a solution!

    For those of you that may run into this same problem, I fixed it by using a fixed width for the main container <div> rather than a percentage. Don't know why it didn't work like that, but fixed width took care of it.


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:24 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com