Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Senior Member jlgosse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Newfoundland, Canada
    Posts
    1,037
    Member #
    4570
    Liked
    7 times
    First off... I'm using firefox to start developing with, and I have a few questions. First of all, how come when I'm in firefox, and I go to post a message, how come the actually message text box (where I type in my message) is really small. It's about half of the width of the WDF website itself.

    Another question, I'm doing a design for something at school, its very graphical, and might take a minute to load, but can anyone tell me why there is no border on the right side of the table?

    http://205.251.154.88:8080/design/odtv%20site/layout1/


  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member jlgosse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Newfoundland, Canada
    Posts
    1,037
    Member #
    4570
    Liked
    7 times
    Nevermind, I'm trying something different. Thanks though.


  4. #3
    Senior Member justlivyalife's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    2,871
    Member #
    2374
    Another question, I'm doing a design for something at school, its very graphical, and might take a minute to load, but can anyone tell me why there is no border on the right side of the table?

    http://205.251.154.88:8080/design/odtv%20site/layout1/
    Because you have the line [minicode]border-left: 0px;[/minicode] in your div.border class.
    justlivyalife - The future depends on what we do in the present. (Mahatma Gandhi)
    WDF Resources: WDF Rules
    Non-WDF: JavascriptSource | Dynamic Drive | phpBB | HTML-Kit | Winamp | Download Firefox | Morguefile

  5. #4
    Senior Member jlgosse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Newfoundland, Canada
    Posts
    1,037
    Member #
    4570
    Liked
    7 times
    Nope, that wasn't it. I decided to leave the left border blank after because the right border wasn't working.

    So basically I have a top and bottom border on the outside div.

    I still don't know why WDF is messed up.


  6. #5
    Senior Member justlivyalife's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    2,871
    Member #
    2374
    I get the same problem in Firefox also. Wierd.

    A problem I am having with my firefox is all the pages are jumping up and down, on all websites...
    justlivyalife - The future depends on what we do in the present. (Mahatma Gandhi)
    WDF Resources: WDF Rules
    Non-WDF: JavascriptSource | Dynamic Drive | phpBB | HTML-Kit | Winamp | Download Firefox | Morguefile

  7. #6
    Senior Member jlgosse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Newfoundland, Canada
    Posts
    1,037
    Member #
    4570
    Liked
    7 times
    Mine isn't doing the jumpy thing. I want to be able to design cross-browser, and the first step im taking is with an image heavy design.

    I also had alot of trouble putting an iframe into my design so I scrapped that for divs instead.

    Anyone know whats up with the firefox/WDF conflict?


  8. #7
    Senior Member jlgosse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Newfoundland, Canada
    Posts
    1,037
    Member #
    4570
    Liked
    7 times
    Another couple things that I noticed about firefox:
    1. You can't use custom scroll-bars.
    2. You can't use the scrool-wheel on your mouse!? Like WTF!? At least not in divs with overflow.
    I like it more than IE still though!


  9. #8
    Senior Member Brak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    3,413
    Member #
    1217
    Liked
    2 times
    1. That's an IE specific attribute that I think should be sent to the depths of hell.. it's terrible for usability.
    2. Works for me....

    textbox thing.. .I don't know why, it has something to do with how vb is coded.

    justlivyalife> try installing another skin, since the development has been going so rapidly many skins aren't compatable with certain versions and I've heard of this complaint when people use wrong skins before...
    Kyle Neath: Rockstar extraordinare
    The blog | The poetry site | The Spore site

  10. #9
    Senior Member jlgosse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Newfoundland, Canada
    Posts
    1,037
    Member #
    4570
    Liked
    7 times
    Brak, it's only an extra im using for IE users.

    And the thing about the VB code... Thats GARBAGE... and not cool!


  11. #10
    Senior Member [Li] Brad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Saskatoon, Canada
    Posts
    578
    Member #
    3689
    I had the same jumping problem before and it was definitely the skin. As for the text box, I just use the quick reply, it's the best forum invention there is.

    [Li] Brad
    "Art strives for form, and hopes for beauty." - George Bellows


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:55 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com