Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: CSS Backgrounds

  1. #1
    Senior Member jlgosse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Newfoundland, Canada
    Posts
    1,037
    Member #
    4570
    Liked
    7 times
    Why in god's name won't background work for me?!? I'm trying to use a repeating background in CSS (a td background).

    http://205.251.154.88:8080/portfolio.../design%20two/

    Behind the text should be a repeating background called "body.jpg".

    Here is my code:
    Code:
    background-image: url("/images/body.jpg");
    background-repeat: repeat-y;
    It absolutely refuses to work for me. It's really starting to tick me off. I couldn't get it to work on another site either!

    Any help is appreciated!


  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member glyakk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,263
    Member #
    3828
    Liked
    6 times
    you dont need quotes inside the parentheses, nor the slash.



    background-image: url(images/body.jpg);


  4. #3
    Senior Member jlgosse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Newfoundland, Canada
    Posts
    1,037
    Member #
    4570
    Liked
    7 times
    I don't think that works for me either...

    EDIT: I tried it, that didn't work.


  5. #4
    Senior Member glyakk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,263
    Member #
    3828
    Liked
    6 times
    are you applying the style directly to the td?

    also looking at your design and body.jpg it looks like you want to repete it horozontaly (x) not vertially (y).


  6. #5
    Senior Member jlgosse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Newfoundland, Canada
    Posts
    1,037
    Member #
    4570
    Liked
    7 times
    hmm... one second, I think I might know the problem... lol

    EDIT: That wasn't the problem. But yes, I am trying to apply it directly to the TD. Why?


  7. #6
    Senior Member jlgosse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Newfoundland, Canada
    Posts
    1,037
    Member #
    4570
    Liked
    7 times
    I'd also like to note that what I am designing right now validates both its CSS code and its HTML (w3c standards)...

    So I don't know why the backgrounds are not working in either IE6 or Firefox. Maybe it's because TD's can't have backgrounds like that? Or maybe it is because there is a rowspan or 3 for that cell?

    Anyone know what the problem is!?


  8. #7
    Senior Member jlgosse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Newfoundland, Canada
    Posts
    1,037
    Member #
    4570
    Liked
    7 times
    I found out the problem.

    It wasn't any error with my code really, just my pathing was screwed up. What a lesson I learned here.

    I had my css file in folder "css", and my images were in "images". The problem was, the path to the image has to be in relation to the location of the css file. So all I did was I moved styles.css to the main directory, and it fixed the problem!

    Thanks though!


  9. #8
    Senior Member glyakk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,263
    Member #
    3828
    Liked
    6 times
    good to hear.. i was about stunned as to why it wasnt working because everything looked good.



Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:39 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com