Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Alabama sans the damn flag
    Posts
    263
    Member #
    38
    Since you can name just about anything else, I would assume the answer is yes. But how? and if you do name it something how do you reference it from another page?
    DerFarm
    I talk to squirrels.
    Squirrels Answer.

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member Seldimi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Kozani, Greece
    Posts
    488
    Member #
    409
    Hmmm ? What document ? You mean title ? If title

    <head>
    <titlie>BlaBla</title>
    </head>
    - Webmaster's Planet . Greek Vortal For Webmasters ...
    - MyPortFolio - View My Creations

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Alabama sans the damn flag
    Posts
    263
    Member #
    38
    no, like a table declaration:

    <table name="thisTable" id="SomeTable" ......
    DerFarm
    I talk to squirrels.
    Squirrels Answer.

  5. #4
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    Crazy guess: try <body id="body"...>.

    What are you trying to do?
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Alabama sans the damn flag
    Posts
    263
    Member #
    38
    I'm still trying to get information out of a table inside a frame.

    I thought if I had the page name, I could reference the page, the frame name, and THEN the name of the table, which would then be a recognizable object.

    I can't find it in the documentation, however, and since no one jumped on it like a duck on a june bug, I suspect that even if it is possible, it's not useful.
    DerFarm
    I talk to squirrels.
    Squirrels Answer.

  7. #6
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    You're trying to reference page objects across frames? I'm not even sure if that's possible. Just try giving the object in question an id; IE seems to be very forgiving when using idname.method().
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  8. #7
    Unpaid WDF Intern TheGAME1264's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Not from USA
    Posts
    14,483
    Member #
    425
    Liked
    2783 times
    Assuming what you're trying to do is use an object in one frame to control an object in another, you can't directly reference and control objects from another frame, since each frame is its own document.
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

    If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

    My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)

  9. #8
    Senior Member nsr81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,132
    Member #
    250
    Liked
    15 times
    sure you can do cross frame references using Javascript

    There is a frames array which keeps track of all the frames, indexed 0 to n. i.e. 3 frames, array will be 0,1,2. You can access a frame using the following syntax. parent.frames[i].document.xxxxxxx

    Here is an example: http://area51.ny-tech.net/frames.html

    However, not sure if this answers your question.
    There and Back Again :Ogre:

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Alabama sans the damn flag
    Posts
    263
    Member #
    38
    This is pretty much what I want. I have data in a table in a frame .... call it two.

    When the table is clicked, I want the value assigned to the cell to be used in a function call:

    Code:
      <td value='xxx' onClick="functioncall(this.value)">dkjfdfj</td>
    Now, if this were a normal table on a straight HTML page, xxx would be sent to functioncall when dkjfdjf was clicked on.

    This is very similar to what you are doing in your example, nsr.

    The problem is, when I replace this.value with ANYTHING dealing with document/page/frames .... I get that the object is undefined.

    This HAS to be doable. I just haven't found out how to doit yet.

    http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/de...bscriptasp.asp
    has an excellent presentation, but unfortunately, I CAN'T FIND THE DAMN START SCREEN CODE to play with it.

    very frustrating.
    DerFarm
    I talk to squirrels.
    Squirrels Answer.

  11. #10
    Senior Member nsr81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,132
    Member #
    250
    Liked
    15 times
    You can also call functions in other frames, similarly.

    place the function code in the 2nd fram, and from the first frame call it using parent.frames[1].function( )

    I've updated my example to show that. I have a function that takes a string and produces an alert on the page with the image. but I am also calling it from the other frame.
    There and Back Again :Ogre:


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:17 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com