Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,274
    Member #
    4362
    Look at the validation:
    http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=ht...en%2Findex.asp

    How do I solve this errors?
    They aren't logic...
    Thnx

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member Brak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    3,413
    Member #
    1217
    Liked
    2 times
    Shift it up one line. (The entire code)
    Kyle Neath: Rockstar extraordinare
    The blog | The poetry site | The Spore site

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,274
    Member #
    4362
    It didn't help, it does the same...

  5. #4
    Senior Member Brak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    3,413
    Member #
    1217
    Liked
    2 times
    Try making the doctype all one line, not the three it's on right now.
    Kyle Neath: Rockstar extraordinare
    The blog | The poetry site | The Spore site

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,274
    Member #
    4362
    Now I remember why it does happen...
    It's because I include the sections of the page (like navbar, mainarea...) using server.execute, so the validator sees the output, wich is a HTML file with another HTML file (mainarea) inside of it. (And the included file has a doctype).
    If I XHTML them separetaly -without ASP processing- they are validated.

    It is solved if I remoce the doctype from the included files, but that will make them XHTML invalid (no doctype).

    Any solution...?

  7. #6
    Senior Member Brak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    3,413
    Member #
    1217
    Liked
    2 times
    Confused as to what you're doing really... but try something like this:

    Creat a global variable, set it to true when doctype is printed out - everytime you go to print it out, check if the variable is true or not. That way you get one doctype per page.
    Kyle Neath: Rockstar extraordinare
    The blog | The poetry site | The Spore site

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    1,274
    Member #
    4362
    Yes, it's a good idea.
    I will do it in ASP and will post the code so that everybody can use it.

    Only one problem: How do I check with ASP syntax if there is something printed above?
    Or should it be something like:

    create var = true
    If var == true then DOCTYPE.
    Set var = false

    And later, on the included document:

    If var == true then DOCTYPE.

    I know I'm not applying any programming language, just asking you if something like this will work.


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:45 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com