Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Alabama sans the damn flag
    Posts
    263
    Member #
    38
    Ok, I decided (because the boss says so) that I have to avoid at all costs using client side processing (ie: no javascript) except for demo purposes.

    That being said, I want to put a submit button on my table which will call the server to update the left-hand frame.

    I got the button (it actually looks ok) in the table with no problem. Now I need to use the target attribute

    In the Javascript function The last lines are:

    Code:
     ...
    
          PatURL=PatURL + '?PATHEAD=' + PatHead_Text + '&PATDATA=' + PatData_Text + '&' + PatUser_Text;
          parent.frames['PatientDataFrame'].document.location.href = PatURL;
    where PatURL comes out looking like: TotalSQL.asp?x=...&y=...

    Am I going to have to something like this here as well? The values of Pathead, Patdata, ... are located in hidden buttons.
    DerFarm
    I talk to squirrels.
    Squirrels Answer.

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    So basically you want a form submission to show up in a given frame?
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Alabama sans the damn flag
    Posts
    263
    Member #
    38
    yup. I've got the necessary data in place (I think). I've got the button
    in place, it DOES work but I get an error (based on query) which
    indicates that the target option I'm using is not being seen ...

    Code:
       strTemp0 = "<input type=submit value='*' target='TotalPat.asp?
    PersonTableVal=John&PatData=1,2,3,4,5,&PatHead=a,b,c,d,e,'>"
       strArray = split(SQL(0),"Select ")
       SQL(0) = "Select " & chr(34) & strTemp0 & chr(34) & "as 
    DoNotShow1," & strArray(1)
    The data is fake just to give me the required actions. I can replace it
    later.

    the value statement is working fine. I would have expected it to show
    up in the same space as the table but instead, it is trying to evaluate
    the file for TotalSQL.asp
    DerFarm
    I talk to squirrels.
    Squirrels Answer.

  5. #4
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    The target should be the name of the frame you want the result to load in, not the URL. The action should be the .asp page. Also for arguments you should use [minicode]<input type="hidden" name="variable name" value="variable value">[/minicode]
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Alabama sans the damn flag
    Posts
    263
    Member #
    38
    If I'm reading you correctly then:
    Code:
       response.write "<input name='PATHEAD'  type=hidden 
                       value='" & PATHEAD & "'></input>"   
       response.write "<input name='PATDATA'  type=hidden 
                        value='" & PATDATA & "'></input>"
       response.write "<input name='UserName' type=hidden 
                         value='" & request.querystring('PersonTableVal') 
                         & "'></input>"
    should do for the passing of the variables that I need.

    I changed the the submit button to:
    <input type=submit value='*' action='TotalPAT.asp'>

    in fond hope that the page would load into the frame I was looking
    at ... so much for fondness. It's still trying to execute TotalSQL.asp
    instead of TotalPAT.asp.
    DerFarm
    I talk to squirrels.
    Squirrels Answer.

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Alabama sans the damn flag
    Posts
    263
    Member #
    38
    Ok, I got the thing to show the correct asp page by putting the method=Post and the action in the form name tag.

    Bear with me, I'm getting there.
    DerFarm
    I talk to squirrels.
    Squirrels Answer.

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Alabama sans the damn flag
    Posts
    263
    Member #
    38
    All right, its grusome as hell, but here's the SQL code that retrieves the data for the Table from Hell:

    Code:
    Select "<input type=submit value='" & [person].[personID] & "' name=ID>" as IDNumber,
    Person.Name,Person.Type,Person.Sex,
    Int((Now()-Person.BirthDate)/365.25) as Age,
    IPList.AttendingMD as Attending, IPList.AdmitDT as
    AdmDate,IPList.Location,Int(Now()-IPList.AdmitDt) AS 
    LOS,IPList.Service FROM Person LEFT JOIN IPList ON 
    Person.PersonID = IPList.PersonID WHERE (((IPList.
    [PersonID]) IS NOT NULL)) OR 
    (((InStr(ucase([ActiveUser]),"JOHN")>0)=-1)) 
    Order BY Person.Name
    The data now flows to the right page. I just have to get the code re-worked to show the correct data and placement.


    And YES it works. puts the silly button in the correct place, passes the ID number as IDNumber and all the rest of the good garbage, and its contained in SQL(0) an array of SQL code queries.

    Then I'll worry about the stupid frame destination
    DerFarm
    I talk to squirrels.
    Squirrels Answer.

  9. #8
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    Well I'm glad the monologue has worked
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Alabama sans the damn flag
    Posts
    263
    Member #
    38
    It doesn't work. I forgot that ALL the silly things get passed. I'm trying to pass only the selected Item.


    Back to the drawing board.
    DerFarm
    I talk to squirrels.
    Squirrels Answer.


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:43 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com