Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: cant stream

  1. #1
    Member {sniper}'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Wisconsin ;)
    Posts
    76
    Member #
    298
    I have tryed several diff. DW ext's with no luck even a real player one, I want to stream a rather large file on my front page 1 or 2 MB (MP3)

    but cant get nothing to work UGH I hate this PLZ help


    :ninja:
    any help is always greatly appreciated
    =[11-42]= {sniper}
    my forum ~~ old personal site

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member zionlocke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    .: l33t Basement :.
    Posts
    736
    Member #
    483
    Liked
    3 times
    i wanna learn to stream using a flashfile to stream like 24 kbs mp3... should I make an m3u list? or what. any tutorial for both of us would be great.
    Cheers, zionlocke :chinese:
    Links: Zion Creation | Blog

  4. #3
    Senior Member nsr81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,132
    Member #
    250
    Liked
    15 times
    If you can convert it to a "RM" file. Create a plain text file, name it same as the RM file but with RAM extension. This file will contain the location of the RM file, either an absolute URL or a relative. Now provide your users link to the RAM file, this will stream the RM file.

    Example:
    Actual song/file: something.rm
    ram file: something.ram
    contents of ram file: http://www.domain.com/something.rm

    link for visitors: http://www.domain.com/something.ram

    Hope that made sense LOL
    There and Back Again :Ogre:

  5. #4
    Senior Member zionlocke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    .: l33t Basement :.
    Posts
    736
    Member #
    483
    Liked
    3 times
    is m3u and mp3 kinda like the real player stuff too?
    Cheers, zionlocke :chinese:
    Links: Zion Creation | Blog

  6. #5
    Member {sniper}'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Wisconsin ;)
    Posts
    76
    Member #
    298
    if you download real player one you can conver mp3 to RM


    I also had an DW extion from REAl that attempted to do this (nsr81) to no luck ... doesnt play
    any help is always greatly appreciated
    =[11-42]= {sniper}
    my forum ~~ old personal site

  7. #6
    Senior Member nsr81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,132
    Member #
    250
    Liked
    15 times
    m3u: is playlist, used by winamp and many other mp3 players.

    mp3: is a format to compress audio files.
    There and Back Again :Ogre:

  8. #7
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    I would seriously avoid using Real-anything (other than the fact that Real is evil ) because many new computers don't have it installed by default anymore. WiMP (Windows Media Player) might be a better choice for streaming. QuickTime can stream, too, but not as well as the other two.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  9. #8
    Senior Member nsr81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    1,132
    Member #
    250
    Liked
    15 times
    You will need Real Producer. I believe you can get the basic version for free from Real's website.
    There and Back Again :Ogre:

  10. #9
    Member {sniper}'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Wisconsin ;)
    Posts
    76
    Member #
    298
    ugh still need a script or something to embed a mp3 ... everything plays mp3's
    any help is always greatly appreciated
    =[11-42]= {sniper}
    my forum ~~ old personal site

  11. #10
    Member {sniper}'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Wisconsin ;)
    Posts
    76
    Member #
    298
    I think I know how to fix my prob at least if I can get a open pop-up on load script I should be good cause I have an index.RAM file now
    any help is always greatly appreciated
    =[11-42]= {sniper}
    my forum ~~ old personal site


Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:48 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com