Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Senior Member tekp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    A small village near a small city near a small cit
    Posts
    918
    Member #
    4667
    Liked
    1 times
    Look at this:

    http://tekp.com

    See the huge, ugly grey gap at the top?

    CSS:

    #layout-top {height:100px; width:700px; margin:0px; padding:0px; background:url("../images/layout/top_banner.jpg") 0 50% no-repeat;}

    #layout-midnav {height:20px; width:698px; margin-top:82px; padding:0px; font-family:Verdana, Tahoma, Arial, sans-serif; font-size:10px; color:#444444; text-align:left;}
    the #layout-midnav is contained within the #layout-top. they are both DIVs.


    I dont know why this is doing this....... any ideas?
    tekp :cheeky: tekponline.com

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member justlivyalife's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    2,871
    Member #
    2374
    Note this error only occurs in Firefox, in IE it works fine.
    justlivyalife - The future depends on what we do in the present. (Mahatma Gandhi)
    WDF Resources: WDF Rules
    Non-WDF: JavascriptSource | Dynamic Drive | phpBB | HTML-Kit | Winamp | Download Firefox | Morguefile

  4. #3
    Senior Member glyakk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,263
    Member #
    3828
    Liked
    6 times
    just taking a quick stab at it but maybe margin-top:82px; Is cauging your problems?


  5. #4
    Senior Member Maverick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Hoboken, NJ
    Posts
    351
    Member #
    3253
    try adding this to your CSS:

    html, body { margin-top: 0px; }
    www.stevenspoker.com
    "You can't lose what you don't put in the middle, ... but you can't win much either." -Mike McDermott (Rounders)

  6. #5
    Senior Member tekp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    A small village near a small city near a small cit
    Posts
    918
    Member #
    4667
    Liked
    1 times
    glyakk: haha

    like I said, they are nested DIVs. So even if it had a margin, it should effectively be sitting on the bottom of the #layout-top DIV. Like it was before.


    mav: did, but still nothing
    tekp :cheeky: tekponline.com

  7. #6
    Senior Member Maverick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Hoboken, NJ
    Posts
    351
    Member #
    3253
    FIXED:

    in the properties for #layout-outer, change margin-top:20px to margin-top:0px;

    Oh and just so you know the way you have your stylesheet formatted with all the selector properties as 1 continous string makes it hell to update or debug. I know its personal preference, but I find the way I have my stylesheet setup (http://www.wcdarchives.com/global.css) makes it very easy to browse through and make changes in the code.
    www.stevenspoker.com
    "You can't lose what you don't put in the middle, ... but you can't win much either." -Mike McDermott (Rounders)

  8. #7
    Senior Member tekp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    A small village near a small city near a small cit
    Posts
    918
    Member #
    4667
    Liked
    1 times
    Originally posted by Maverick
    FIXED:

    in the properties for #layout-outer, change margin-top:20px to margin-top:0px;

    Oh and just so you know the way you have your stylesheet formatted with all the selector properties as 1 continous string makes it hell to update or debug. I know its personal preference, but I find the way I have my stylesheet setup (http://www.wcdarchives.com/global.css) makes it very easy to browse through and make changes in the code.
    I did but it isnt fixed.\ Note this is in FIrefox.


    I am reconsidering my code anyway and will post here soon.
    tekp :cheeky: tekponline.com

  9. #8
    Senior Member tekp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    A small village near a small city near a small cit
    Posts
    918
    Member #
    4667
    Liked
    1 times
    Ok, very soon it seems.

    Ive fixed it: the navigaiton was an unordered list inside a DIV, now its just an unordered list.

    And Mav: see my CSS you'll be happy to know its all l;ayed out nicely. Thanks for the tip.
    tekp :cheeky: tekponline.com

  10. #9
    Senior Member Maverick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Hoboken, NJ
    Posts
    351
    Member #
    3253
    Good to hear it.

    Regarding your css, thats very strange that it didnt fix it for you, I downloaded your page and css and it worked fine in firefox when i tested it. Oh well, if it works, it works.
    www.stevenspoker.com
    "You can't lose what you don't put in the middle, ... but you can't win much either." -Mike McDermott (Rounders)

  11. #10
    Senior Member tekp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    A small village near a small city near a small cit
    Posts
    918
    Member #
    4667
    Liked
    1 times
    spose lol, thanks.
    tekp :cheeky: tekponline.com


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:37 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com