Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
  1. #11
    WDF Staff Wired's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    7,657
    Member #
    1234
    Liked
    138 times
    try > instead of />
    The Rules
    Was another WDF member's post helpful? Click the like button below the post.

    Admin at houseofhelp.com

  2.  

  3. #12
    Senior Member james's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    364
    Member #
    1352
    I just had the same problem occur to me. I fixed it by using php echo() to write the output, which meant I could keep my pretty source code formatting without making HTML render extra spaces. The problem only occurred on Moz FF.
    James H
    Home Page · Mars Page · www.fihsf1.net (formerly www·fihs·net)

  4. #13
    Senior Member jlgosse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Newfoundland, Canada
    Posts
    1,037
    Member #
    4570
    Liked
    7 times
    You would still have to print with a newline character, though.
    Code:
    <?php
    echo "\n";
    ?>
    Wouldn't that make the space appear again, in order to make the code clean?

    Because either way, the output will need a newline character, as PHP sends HTML and the same characters to the browser.


  5. #14
    Senior Member james's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    364
    Member #
    1352
    In my case newlines an spaces were forcing a single space to be rendered between <div>'s, which I didn't want. So I could have deleted all those nl's and spaces, but instead I just put
    <?php
    echo '<div></div>'
    echo '<div></div>'
    ?>
    James H
    Home Page · Mars Page · www.fihsf1.net (formerly www·fihs·net)

  6. #15
    Senior Member jlgosse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Newfoundland, Canada
    Posts
    1,037
    Member #
    4570
    Liked
    7 times
    Extremely clever. It sucks though because then you are outputting empty divs to the browser, which would end up creating a newline anyway, and breaking the current div.

    To further explain, I would have a stack of images on top of eachother, instead of side by side.

    Bummer.


  7. #16
    Senior Member tekp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    A small village near a small city near a small cit
    Posts
    918
    Member #
    4667
    Liked
    1 times
    i know

    make the font-size:0px;

    i think i get what you mean, jlgosse. If you make the font sizes to zero empty spaces wont show up. I think...

    EDIT: in your sig you say you design with HTML, clearly you are closing the image tags XHTML style
    tekp :cheeky: tekponline.com

  8. #17
    Senior Member jlgosse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Newfoundland, Canada
    Posts
    1,037
    Member #
    4570
    Liked
    7 times
    Whoa, thanks for picking up on that! I meant to include numbers and stuff there too.

    Thanks tekp!



Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:29 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com