Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    Senior Member jlgosse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Newfoundland, Canada
    Posts
    1,037
    Member #
    4570
    Liked
    7 times
    http://205.251.154.88:8080/odonel/index.php

    Go here, and tell me how I can have it so a \n in my editor, does not output a " " (space) character to my browser.

    I'm having huge trouble figuring it out.

    If anyone can at least fix the code, it would be greatly appreciated.

    EDIT: You will be able to tell what I mean when you look at the "nav" HTML. It really needs a fixin.


  2.  

  3. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    4
    Member #
    5776
    sorry but all link are to index.php#
    no links to nav.html
    or am i failed to catch your point?

  4. #3
    Senior Member jlgosse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Newfoundland, Canada
    Posts
    1,037
    Member #
    4570
    Liked
    7 times
    You clearly are...

    So does anyone here know? hah..


  5. #4
    Senior Member karinne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Aylmer QC Canada
    Posts
    1,607
    Member #
    4335
    Liked
    8 times
    not sure i understand either? Everything looks fine in firefox
    [a web design portfolio - Currently NOT AVAILABLE for work | web design | Re-coding | PSD-to-HTML]
    I'm also on: virb - facebook - twitter - flickr - del.icio.us

  6. #5
    Senior Member mossoi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Englandshire, United Kingdomsville y'all!
    Posts
    1,111
    Member #
    1206
    Liked
    1 times
    I assume the problem is when using something like "\folder\noway.php" in the link code but what you want isn't explained very well.

    Try googling for information on JS escape characters.

  7. #6
    Senior Member jlgosse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Newfoundland, Canada
    Posts
    1,037
    Member #
    4570
    Liked
    7 times
    That isn't what I'm talking about.

    My code is ugly because I can't seperate img tags.

    It is partially fixed now though.


  8. #7
    Senior Member james's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    364
    Member #
    1352
    AFAIK, any combination of any number of newlines and spaces will be rendered as a single space in HTML. That's just the way HTML is. So, if you want several spaces, you need lots of '&nbsp;'s, and several newline, you need several '<br />'s.

    If you don't want a space, don't put in the newline!

    If I understand.
    James H
    Home Page · Mars Page · www.fihsf1.net (formerly www·fihs·net)

  9. #8
    Senior Member jlgosse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Newfoundland, Canada
    Posts
    1,037
    Member #
    4570
    Liked
    7 times
    But I can't even do this in a div.
    Code:
    <img src="imagename.jpg" />
    <img src="imagename.jpg" />
    <img src="imagename.jpg" />
    If I do the above and want them all right next to eachother, it won't work, instead I have to do this:
    Code:
    <img src="imagename.jpg" /><img src="imagename.jpg" /><img src="imagename.jpg" />
    Note, there are ways around it like putting the newlines in the middle of a tag. This is an example:
    Code:
    <img
    src="imagename.jpg" /><img
    src="imagename.jpg" /><img
    src="imagename.jpg" />


  10. #9
    Senior Member james's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    364
    Member #
    1352
    Does setting CSS margins change the behaviour? I can see how that would be annoying.
    James H
    Home Page · Mars Page · www.fihsf1.net (formerly www·fihs·net)

  11. #10
    Senior Member jlgosse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Newfoundland, Canada
    Posts
    1,037
    Member #
    4570
    Liked
    7 times
    Margins won't do it. I have/had themargins to the images set to 0, the space character after each image causes the problem. I wish there were a way to ignore the space.



Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:36 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com